Ten Things to Do Before Labor Day & Roasted Almonds

From time to time throughout my life I have found myself up and on a pair of water-skis. The first time I was seven. It was with our dear friends the Macauley’s. We were on our annual summer vacation on the Cape and they drove up from Connecticut to spend a few days with us. They even hauled their motorboat with them.

We all jumped into the boat, left the calm waters of Buzzards Bay behind and headed out into the ocean for an adventure. For all I know, we might have motored around the corner and stayed well within the bay. Still, I remember it as an OCEAN adventure. We found a lovely beach for swimming and picnicking. After lunch Mac took us waterskiing.

My Dad was game and gave it a try as did Skipper Macauley who was more or less the same age as my sister. I’m pretty sure my Mom gave it a pass in favor of recording the thrills and spills on 8mm. Of course my cautious, older sister Brenda declined. Just as predictable, I threw caution to the wind and jumped at the chance. It was quite awhile ago but I’d guess that my motivation was twofold. First, there was the pure thrill and excitement of it and second, because Brenda wouldn’t. I am forever proud that I got up on the first try and rocketed across the ocean waves until my little arms gave out.

Several years later up on Pleasant Lake, I was determined to get up on one ski before Labor Day and summer’s end. At seven I’d been swift and agile on two skis. At thirteen, I was as elegant as a lame giraffe on one. I tried it all ways. I dropped a ski and was immediately thrown off balance and into the water. Getting up on one ski didn’t seem to work either. Forget losing my balance, I was never able to find it. Finally, after countless face-plants in Pleasant Lake, late Labor Day afternoon …VICTORY! I stayed up just long enough to enjoy a short turn by the crowded beach to the delight of my adoring or more likely bored family and friends.

Labor Day is just around the corner. Have you made your list of things to do before summer’s end? If not, how about:

1. Kayak around Pleasant (or your favorite) Lake.
2. Lie in a hammock and read a book from cover to cover.
3. Hike to the top of Mount Kearsarge.
4. Build a sand castle.
5. Swim to Blueberry (or some other) Island.
6. Sit on the beach with a glass of wine watching the loons while the sun sets.
7. Take a long bike ride in the country.
8. Toast marshmallows and make s’mores.
9. Dance in the moonlight.
10. Ski on one water-ski.

Hoping you are enjoying the final days of summer. Bon appétit!

Roasted Almonds
Delicious! Enjoy these almonds while sitting on the beach with a glass of wine watching the loons and the sun set.

1 pound whole almonds
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons sea salt

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Put the almonds on a rimmed baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Toss to evenly coat. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

Remove from the oven and let cool, the nuts will crisp as they cool. Once cooled, store the almonds in an airtight container at room temperature.

Print-friendly version of this post.

One Year Ago –  Grilled Swordfish with Caponata
Two Years Ago – Harira (Middle Eastern Soup with Chicken, Chick-Peas and Lentils)  

What last few activities will you cram in before Labor Day? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Feel free to visit my photo blog Susan Nye 365 or my other, cleverly named blog, Susan Nye’s Other Blog.You can find more than 200 recipes, links to magazine articles and lots more on my website. . I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2010

One thought on “Ten Things to Do Before Labor Day & Roasted Almonds

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

