Today Is My Birthday & Carrot Cake

It’s been a busy morning …

I’ve been trying to gather my thoughts to write about Mardi Gras, ice cream, The Prouty and The Fells

… but I keep getting the most delightful interruptions. Phone calls and the pings of emails and Facebook greetings keep breaking my concentration. It’s my birthday!

No, it’s not one of the big ones … not one that ends with a big-0 … or even a sort’a big-5. And while I won’t be baking today, I thought it would be fun to share my favorite cake recipe with you.

Enjoy the day!

.

.

Julie’s Carrot Cake
Carrot cake is my favorite and my friend Julie has generously made this delicious cake for me many times over the years. Enjoy!
Makes a 9×13-inch cake or about 24 cup cakes

2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
2½ cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
2 cups finely grated carrots
1 cup raisins
1 1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour a 9×13-inch baking dish or line muffin pans with paper liners.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl; set aside.

Beat the eggs, oil and sugar with an electric mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes. Reduce speed to low. Slowly add the flour mixture and mix until just combined. Fold in the carrots, walnuts and raisins.

Pour batter into prepared pan or fill muffin cups 3/4 full. Bake the cake for about 45-60 minutes (cupcakes for 35-45 minutes) or until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool completely on a wire rack. Generously spread with cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 pound confectioners’ sugar

Put the cream cheese and butter in a large bowl; beat with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth, add the vanilla extra and combine. Slowly add the confectioners’ sugar and mix until well blended. Increase mixer speed and continue mixing for 2 to 3 minutes, until the frosting is light and fluffy.

Printer-friendly version of the recipe.

What is your favorite birthday cake? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for lots more to read, see & cook! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2011

10 thoughts on “Today Is My Birthday & Carrot Cake

  1. Susan,

    Please add my wishes to those from others to have a Happy Birthday!!

    I feel like baking a cake and carrot cake is my all time favorite.

    Good timing!

    Barbara

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

