Easter Weekend Special – Family Dinner & Brunch Ideas


Okay it looks like it will rain snow(!) on this year’s Easter Parades. At least in the northeast. Not to worry, a little rain snow doesn’t have to keep you from spending some time with family and friends. Hold the Easter Egg Hunt indoors and wear your favorite hat with pride.

Need a few ideas for dinner? Here goes:

Mix, Mingle and Nibble:
Relax and chat with family and friends while you sip a glass of wine and enjoy a few hors d’oeuvres. A holiday wouldn’t be a holiday without a big platter of shrimp. Forget the same-old/same-old shrimp with the red cocktail sauce. Give my Mediterranean Shrimp a try. You’ll be happy you did! Add a bowl of Roasted Almonds and a few Spicy Olives to nibble. (Don’t forget to set a small dish next to the olives for the pits.)

Start Dinner Off with a Pretty Salad: 
My Mixed Greens with Roasted Grapes will add a festive touch to this special dinner.

The Main Event:
I love lamb at Easter. As long as it’s not snowing, I like Grilled Lamb … especially when someone else volunteers to man the grill. (If the weather is really miserable, marinate the lamb as if you are going to grill. Then sear the lamb on all sides and finish it in a 375 degree oven until a thermometer inserted in the thickest part of the meat registers at 130 degrees for medium rare.)

And on a rainy, chilly day? The perfect side dish for lamb is Asparagus Risotto.

For a Sweet Finish:
For Easter, when it comes to dessert, only lemon will do. I’ve got two great suggestions: a rich and creamy Lemon Cheesecake or my favorite Lemon Tart. Then again … I might be persuaded to go with Carrot Cake.

But what if you’re planning Brunch instead of Dinner for Easter ? 

My Spinach-Ricotta Pie is hearty and delicious. Unless you prefer a big pan of Cheesy Scrambled Eggs. Of course you will want to add a few slices of smoked salmon, strips of bacon or a sausage link or two. Try some crispy Roasted Potatoes and, since it is brunch, don’t forget a nice Garden Salad.

Need something sweet? Try my Ginger Scones or Rhubarb Muffins. If you can find a good-looking melon or two in the market, bring them home and toss up some Mojito Melons or look for strawberries and enjoy Strawberries & White Chocolate Fool.

Have a wonderful Easter with family and friends. Bon appétit!

Cheesy Scrambled Eggs.
Serves 6

12 large eggs
3/4 cup half-and-half
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
1-2 tablespoons unsalted butter
4 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, grated
1-2 tablespoons chopped chives

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and pepper.

Heat butter in a large sauté pan. Add the eggs and cook them over low heat, stirring almost constantly with a rubber spatula, until loosely set. Sprinkle the cheese and chives over the eggs and stir to combine. Continue to cook, stirring, until the eggs reach the desired firmness. Serve immediately.

What’s on your Easter menu? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

6 thoughts on “Easter Weekend Special – Family Dinner & Brunch Ideas

  1. Grilled Lamb? Asparagus Risotto? Lemon Cheesecake? You are speaking my language! I have just stumbled upon your lovely blog and have enjoyed my visit here very much. My husband and I have just relocated to NH from Louisiana (he’s from here!) and I am happy to find other NH foodies. I’m signing up to follow along.

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Candace

    Like

    • Welcome to New Hampshire! I hope that you come to love the State as much as I do. And thank you for visiting and subscribing to my little blog. Have a great holiday, Susan

      Like

    • Diane – You can make it with fresh spinach – I have in the past. You need to saute the spinach first to wilt and you’ll need a couple of pounds – it shrinks to nothing! I switched to frozen spinach because it’s more economical and still tastes great. Happy Easter! Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

