Weekend Special – Mother’s Day Brunch or Lunch

.

Sunday is Mothers’ Day. Just in time for a family celebration, my mom and dad are returning home from Florida tomorrow. Not sure if we will be five or six or twelve but I’m looking forward a fun and festive lunch or maybe brunch.

Here are a few ideas!

.

To Start:
Kick off brunch or lunch with a festive cocktail! A little Mango & Sparkle will start you off on the right foot. Instead of bagels and cream cheese, take it up a notch with bagels or lightly toasted sourdough bread and Smoked Salmon Mousse.

The Main Event:
I let the weather be my guide when it comes to my Mothers’ Day feast. If it’s cold and rainy I’m apt to call it brunch and go for quiche. My favorites include Spinach-Ricotta Pie and Tomato & Cheddar Quiche.

If it’s sunny and bright, I call it lunch and make a big salad. I love this
Thai Salad and add Spicy Grilled Chicken or Tequila Shrimp for a one platter lunch. Or maybe this special occasion calls for nothing less than Lobster Salad!

Sweet Treats:
What could be better than Rhubarb or Blueberry Muffins. And don’t forget the Honeyed Apricots with Creamy Yogurt

Mango & Sparkle
Serves 8-8

12 ounces mango juice
2 ounces rum
Nutmeg
1 bottle prosecco, chilled
Lime slices or wedges

Combine the mango juice and rum and carefully pour into an ice cube tray. Add a small pinch of nutmeg to each section. Set in the freezer until frozen solid.

To serve: put 1 or 2 frozen mango cubes in each champagne flute. Carefully pour prosecco over the cube(s). Garnish each glass with a lime slice or wedge.

Non-alcohol Mango Sparkler 

Serves 6-8

1 quart mango juice, chilled
Nutmeg
Sparkling water, chilled
Lime slices or wedges

Carefully pour mango juice into an ice cube tray. Add a small pinch of nutmeg to each section. Set in the freezer until frozen solid. Store the remaining mango juice in the refrigerator.

To serve: put 1 or 2 frozen mango cubes in each champagne flute. Fill the glasses about 3/4 full with mango juice, top with sparkling water and garnish with a lime slice or wedge.

Have a fun and festive feast! Bon appétit!

How will you celebrate Mothers’ Day? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “Weekend Special – Mother’s Day Brunch or Lunch

  1. I hope you have a wonderful brunch with you mother and father. Your menu sounds delicious.

    My daughter and 2 of my grandchildren will be coming on Sunday for a visit. I do not cook on Mothers Day. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

