Weekend Special –Father’s Day Celebration!

Somehow I don’t think of brunch for Father’s Day. After all real men or maybe it’s just some men don’t eat quiche! Whether you get together for a Father’s Day lunch or dinner, why not make it a cookout. It’s his day – let him hang out in shorts and his favorite t-shirt. I’m betting most dads will appreciate a casual get-together with family and friends. Here are a few ideas!
Dad Joking with his Youngest Granddaughter

To Start:
The season is so short, if you can still find some, start your celebration with some LOCAL Grilled Asparagus. Nibble on a spear au natural or dip it in Peanut-Sesame Dipping Sauce. For a heartier hors d’oeurvre, make bruschetta with my Feta & Walnut Spread and garnish each piece with a grilled asparagus tip.

The Main Event:
If your dad is a meat and potatoes guy, you can’t go wrong with Grilled Tenderloin Tips with Roasted Potatoes & Roquefort Salad. It may be a salad but this one-dish dinner is hearty and men love it.

Then again, maybe your dad is a lobster lover like mine. If that’s the case, try Joe Nye’s Perfect Lobster or my Lobster Salad. (My local MarketBasket supermarket will cook the lobsters for you while you shop. As long as the steamer isn’t already full with someone else’s lobsters, it takes about ten minutes.) At our house, lobster is always served with kettle chips. Dad’s favorites are from Utz. Whether you go with boiled lobster or lobster salad, I like to add something crunchy (besides the chips!) like Jicama Slaw or Asian Slaw.

Sweet Finale:
It’s too early for local blueberries but I might just have to bake up one of Dad’s favorite Blueberry Pies. Then again, Strawberry & White Chocolate Fool sounds pretty yummy. I’m keeping my eye on the Pick-Your-Own strawberry field at the end of the street and impatiently waiting for it to open.

Have a great day with your dad! Bon appétit!

Grilled Asparagus

Lots of fresh, local asparagus, woody ends snapped off
Enough walnut or extra virgin olive oil to lightly coat the asparagus
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
Enough white wine vinegar or lemon juice to lightly on spritz the asparagus

Prepare a charcoal or gas grill. Fire should be medium hot.

Toss the asparagus with a little oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Grill the asparagus, turning once, until tender about 1 minute per side. Transfer the asparagus to a platter, sprinkle with a little vinegar or lemon juice and serve.

What are serving Dad on Father’s Day? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “Weekend Special –Father’s Day Celebration!

  1. Mary – What a beautiful day it was! I had a lovely evening with my mom and dad. We met on the beach for cocktails. I gave him a bucket of microbrews. I grilled beef tenderloin and red potatoes. Topped it off with a Caesar salad – recipe will be on the blog tomorrow. Final touch was Death by Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter-cream cheese frosting. Glad you had a good day. Take care, Susan

    Like

  2. Oh what a wonderful post. I loved all of your recipes for Father’s Day. My husband does not like quiche so brunch was not on my list of things t do. 🙂 He is a meat and potatoes type of guy. I did not see this post until tonight or I would have used your recipe for the tenderloin tips and roasted potatoes. Well there is always next weekend. Instead of cooking this Father’s day I took Wayne to the Outback for dinner. It was a win-win for both of us.

    I hope you were able to enjoy our lovely weekend.

    Mary

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

