Weekend Special – Hip Hip Hooray! It’s the 4th of July

.
We waited through the long damp spring for this weekend and finally it’s here. Depending on where you live, there will be parades up and down Main Street or around the lake. Flags will wave. Beer and lemonade will flow and grills will do a double, even triple, shift. Once the sun sets, flares will flicker and fireworks will fly.

Are you still trying to figure out what to cook this weekend? Here are a few ideas!

To Start:
Sip a Shandy or your favorite microbrew while you enjoy a few nibblies. Since salmon is traditional for the 4th, you might want to start with Smoked Salmon Mousse. Then again, I’m quite fond of Tapenade. (It has nothing to do with the 4th but it reminds me of a favorite place, the sunny south of France.) If you aren’t worried about authenticity, Grilled Caponata with warm or toasted pita bread is also a great choice.

The Main Event:
Grilled Salmon with Lemon-Basil Aioli (click for salmon grilling tips) is an excellent choice but I’ve got a craving for a really good burger. Instead of ordinary hot dogs, I think I’ll stock up on some nice chicken sausages. A 4th of July cookout wouldn’t be complete without Potato Salad. For a change of pace, add a Wheat Berry Salad and round out the meal with a big garden salad with one of my favorite vinaigrettes.

Sweet Finish:
When I was a kid, my mom always made brownies on special summer weekends. I’m thinking it might be a good time to whip up some Dream Bars or maybe my nieces’ favorite Peanut Butter Brownies. Of course you can’t go wrong with Triple Threat Brownies.

Have a great holiday weekend! Bon appétit!

Not quite what you’re looking for? Click here for lots more menu ideas!

What are you cooking up over the holiday weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

