In the Kitchen … Scrambling Eggs

I’m the chef at a private club in the summer and every Sunday morning I whip up a ginormous mound of scrambled eggs. Last weekend I cracked ten dozen, yes TEN DOZEN, eggs.

.
Through trial and error I’ve figured out how many eggs and how much milk or half & half and butter I need to scramble eggs for a crowd. (Heaven forbid I should have to make an additional batch of eggs part way through brunch. I’ve got a beach and a book calling my name!)
.
.
.
Here are my quick and easy formulas to make perfect scrambled eggs for a crowd:

Number of people x 2.5 = number of large eggs
Number of people ÷ 16 = cups of half & half
1 – 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter per dozen eggs

So for 8 people, you will need:

20 eggs
1/2 cup half & half

Whisk them up in a big bowl and season with salt to taste.

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a non-stick pan over low heat. When the butter starts to bubble, add the eggs. Gently stir and fold the eggs with a rubber spatula until they start to form big clumps. Sprinkle with pepper to taste and continue stirring and folding until you reach the desired doneness. Serve hot.

What to do when a little piece of egg shell falls into the eggs? I’m sure it’s happened to you. With ten dozen eggs or more every weekend, I can assure you it happens to me at least once or twice every weekend. To remove the renegade piece of shell quickly and easily, use half of the egg shell as a scoop and remove the piece. It works much better than a spoon (or your finger)!

Bon appétit!

More Tips, Tricks & Tools

What’s your favorite summer breakfast? Mine’s a muffin with big fat blueberries! Post your favorite in the comments section – I’d love to hear from you!  

©Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen … Scrambling Eggs

  1. Thanks for the quantities-formula. I’ve stored it in my HP. ^_^ Do you ever add cheese or sausage to your scrambled eggs? If so, do you recommend any particular type of cheese? We usually mix American or Cheddar cheese and sausage crumbles into the bowl before pouring it onto the hot skillet to make a sort of scrambled omelet. It’s quick and tasty.

    Occasionally we like to make pancakes with sausage gravy instead of the traditional syrup. It is usually topped with eggs (sunny side up). Since this version is so filling, we make a stack of no more than 2 pancakes. Works for us!

    Thanks again.
    JP

    Like

    • JP – Thanks for stopping by. I prefer cheddar or goat cheese for a scramble. I like both in an omelet as well as brie. Adding sausage in the mix would also be yummy but I usually fry sausage or bacon on the side.

      Take care – S.

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

