Weekend Special – Dark & Stormy!

WOW! The potential is real for the strongest hurricane hit on the Northeast in at least a couple decades this weekend! Forget dinner parties and entertaining, it sounds like we’ll be battling high winds and torrential rain.

Still, ya gotta eat! If the power goes out you may need to do some Cooking Straight from the Pantry. (Of course I’m assuming you have a gas stove like I do.) Then again, with no power, you may need to clean out the freezer! I’ve got a couple of strip steaks in my freezer. (‘m not sure but I think I have a nice chunk of gorgonzola, so I can make one of my favorite sauces to go with it. There is a beautiful Pork Tenderloin in there as well. It will be perfect hot off the grill.

What to go with it? With all the excitement, I’d keep it simple. Grilled Zucchini or Corn and a Green Salad should do it. If the powers out, dessert’s easy – whatever ice cream or Gelato is rapidly melting in the freezer!

And finally, what to drink? A Dark & Stormy of course!

Dark & Stormy

1- 2 ounces dark rum
4-6 ounces ginger beer
Lime wedge

Fill a tall glass with ice cubes, stir in the rum and the ginger beer. Top it off with a squirt of lime and enjoy!

Stay safe and dry this weekend and bon appétit!

How will you ride out the storm? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

4 thoughts on “Weekend Special – Dark & Stormy!

  1. Here in RI we are busy taking sails off the boat, bringing in furniture and thinking about cooking without power. It will be cooking on the grill for us in that case. I also will precook some chicken and hard boiled eggs and get our cooler stocked with block ice.

    Then, we will check the supply of drinks – perhaps not dark and stormy but gin and tonic?

    Like

    • Barb – good luck riding out the storm. I lost power for 18 hours in last Sunday’s thunderstorm – hoping there won’t be a repeat. It’s a glorious day on the mountain – hard to believe a hurricane is coming. Take care and be safe, S.

      Like

    • Thanks Debra. What a beautiful morning – it’s hard to believe trouble is brewing to the south! Take care and stay safe – it looks like Manchester is the storm’s path…S.

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

