Weekend Special – Indian Summer Weekend

After a rainy start, it looks like Indian Summer is getting its act together.I’m looking forward to a beautiful weekend. The kind of weekend you can only find in New Hampshire in September! The weather people are promising warm and dry days and cool nights. I couldn’t be happier.

I’m thinking it’s a good time for a … Tapas Party

… especially if it is on the beach. I’m looking forward to a relaxing for hour or two with friends. It will be a welcome break after too many rainy days … a chance to nibble, chat and watch the sky turn pink while loons drift by and the geese squawk over head.

.

There’s no need to get fancy or make a lot of work for myself. I have some Spicy Olives on hand as well as a very fine piece of Pecorino Romano. And I’m thinking a few Roasted Almonds be nice. Add a slice or two of really good sausage or prosciutto and some raw veggies and who needs dinner?

If you want to get a little fancy you might want to try  Artichoke Leaves with Shrimp, one of my favorite appetizers. Then again, the Farmer’s Market will soon be closed. Perhaps you’ll take advantage of the late summer harvest with Grilled Corn Salsa or Bruschetta with Caponata or Gorgonzola and Grilled Zucchini .

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

How will you spend this Indian Summer weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

