NOT ANOTHER Rainy Weekend Special


Get out your cranky pants – another rainy weekend is on the way.
At least in New England the rain has already started to come down in buckets. I’ll be plenty busy with lots of writing to do as well as an Eat Well – Do Good dinner on Sunday. What about you?

In case you’re wondering – here’s what’ll be cooking at my house on Sunday:

To start: I’ll go with a salad … and dress it up with Roasted Grapes or maybe Mushrooms or butternut squash (roasted of course). Roasting concentrates the flavors and is my favorite way to cook vegetables once the cool weather arrives.

For the Main Event: I’ve decided one thing for sure. I’m going to Roast a Chicken (probably two) as well as some veggies. I’ll add everyone’s favorite smashed potatoes. At least they are a favorite at my house.

For a Sweet Finish: I’m perfecting a recipe for Apple Crumb Cake. You can find it here next week. In the mean time, you might want to bake a Rustic Apple Tart or some spicy Gingerbread or Pumpkin cupcakes.

Smashed Potatoes
Serves 12 or more

5 pounds red skinned or Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and quartered
6 ounces (1 1/2 sticks) butter
1/2 – 1 cup sour cream
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Put the potatoes and 1 tablespoon of butter in a large saucepan. Add enough salted water to cover. Bring to a rapid boil over high heat. Reduce heat to medium and cook partially covered until just tender, about 10 minutes. Do not overcook.

Drain the potatoes in a large colander and return them to the pot. Add the sour cream and butter and stir/smash the ingredients with a large spoon or potato masher. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

Stay dry and Bon Appétit!

What’s cooking in your kitchen this dreary weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

