Weekend Special – Apple Crisp on Cook’s Corner & More

I’m back on WMUR’s Cook’s Corner on Friday. 

I’ll be making my Apple Crisp. It’s great for a crowd, a favorite of kids and adults alike. It has graced my Thanksgiving table many times and enjoyed at one or two Eat Well-Do Good dinners.

I’ll also take advantage of my few minutes on screen to shamelessly plug my first foray into fiction. My short story Murder on the Mountain is one of twenty in the new anthology Live Free or Die, Die, Die!  Lizzie Grant, a cook and the lead character in Murder on the Mountain, takes time out between dishes to discover and solve a murder. Many of her recipes, including Apple Crispcan be found on this blog.

Want some more help with the menu for your weekend feast? On a chilly fall weekend, Carbonnade á la Flamande – Beer Braised Beef & Onions is fabulous comfort food. This economical dish has its roots in Belgium and is made with boneless chuck and beer. (What’s not to love?) Roasted Squash and Smashed or Roasted  Potatoes will complete your meal. Make plenty of squash and use the leftovers in a Cheesy Gratin.

Have a great weekend and bon appétit.

What’s cooking in your kitchen this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want to buy a copy of Live Free or Die, Die, Die!? It will be in bookstores soon. In the meantime, click here to buy on-line.

Want to watch me cook? Click here for the YouTube video.

And finally, one more click for more seasonal menus! Unless of course, you want to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “Weekend Special – Apple Crisp on Cook’s Corner & More

  1. I have the Woodstock magazine with the pumpkin cheesecake recipe. There appears to be something brown in the cheesecake, Is that part of the crust? Also, the piped topping looks great. Is it just plain pumpkin?

    Like

    • Hello Patricia – Thanks for finding my blog. I’m afraid I can’t be of much help. The designer used stock photographs for the article. It looks lovely but is not really an accurate picture of the cheesecake! The cheesecake bakes up to a lovely creamy/light brown color. I agree the piped topping looks lovely but no do not use plain pumpkin. It will not hold peaks and is a dark brown/orange color. You can add a little red and yellow food coloring to heavy cream and then whip (with or without a little confectioner’s sugar to sweeten) and pipe it on the cake. Alternatively, you could make a cream cheese frosting and pipe it – my recipe is on this site – https://susannye.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/cupcakes-a-lovely-little-luxury/. It just depends on how sweet your sweet tooth is! I usually serve the cheese cake with a dollop of unsweetened whipped cream and a little cranberry coulis. Happy baking and happy Halloween – Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

