Trick or Treat & Butternut Squash Lasagna

What’s not to love about Halloween? Yes it falls in that dreary time of year when summer is over and snow is still a month or two off. It is apt to be cold and rainy on Halloween night but in spite of generally miserable weather, it has always been one of my favorite holidays. The decorations are great. The costumes are wonderful. And the proliferation of chocolate is definitely a plus.

At three, I joined the horde of children haunting our neighborhood for the first time. Mary Ann Lane was packed with kids on All Hallows Eve. As a matter of fact, it was packed with kids all the time. It was one of those family-friendly neighborhoods. Our little starter home was wedged between two big houses with eight or ten kids, not between them but each. (My mom always said she kept her window closed at night in case it was catching.)

Not sure if he volunteered or was drafted but Dad took my then six year old sister Brenda and me trick or treating. As I remember it, and granted it was a while ago, it was absolutely thrilling to be out and about in the dark. Not that it was terribly late at night. Combine a grey fall day with a 5:00 sunset and early evening can seem like the middle of the night to a three year old.

Forget about look-both-ways. The big kids raced from house to house and my short little legs did their best to keep up. Dad did his best to keep up with his two little girls. Good thing cars stayed off the road on Halloween night in those days.

Of course I looked adorable. A roly-poly toddler, I was the definitive pumpkin. I didn’t even mind that my costume was a hand-me-down. At least I don’t think I minded. Dashing about with my paper sack I was beyond excited. The street wasn’t that long so my guess is that we were out for maybe fifteen minutes. Thirty tops if my always-chatty dad stopped to talk and accept compliments on his adorable children. I can’t imagine that we let him linger too long. Before the chocolate bar, popcorn ball or candied apple could hit the bottom of the bag, Brenda and I were ready to turn and dash to the next house. All the while, I sang an endless chorus of bick-or-beat, bick-or-beat.

Somewhat miraculously, Dad managed to get his two little girls to every house on the street and back home again in one piece. Well, almost. At the end of our adventure, I burst into the house with an enormous grin, a sack full of sweets and a cold, little foot in a muddy sock. Somewhere, somehow along the way I lost a sneaker.

The next spring we moved to Jackson Road. If anything Halloween became more exciting. Yes, I was forced to reprise my role as a roly-poly pumpkin. But it was new to the neighborhood and I was still adorable. More important, the street was longer and houses were packed close together. Our bags were filled to overflowing with sweet loot by the time Dad corralled us home. I even managed to hang onto both sneakers!

Halloween is fast approaching. Is your costume ready? Jack O’Lanterns carved? Don’t forget to stock up on treats for adorable pumpkins who might come calling. I’m partial to peanut butter cups but will settle for a glass of chardonnay.

Have a spooktacular Halloween and bon appétit!

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Yes, it’s complicated! Yes, it takes too much time to make! … But this crowd favorite is definitely worth the effort. Keep the rest of your menu simple, simple, simple and enjoy a casual Halloween celebration with your best pals.
Serves 10-12
.
.
1 (1 1/2 to 2 pound) butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup white wine
1/2 cup chicken broth
1 1/2 pounds Italian sausage; hot, sweet or a mix, casings removed
Béchamel-Sage Sauce (recipe follows)
8 ounces lasagna noodles (12 noodles)
12 ounces ricotta
12 ounces shredded whole-milk mozzarella cheese
2 ounces grated Parmesan
2 ounces grated Pecorino Romano

Position the rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Put the squash in a roasting pan, toss with olive oil and balsamic vinegar to coat. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and bake uncovered at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Add the onion, toss to combine and cook 10 minutes more. Add the garlic, wine and chicken broth, toss to combine and continue cooking until the squash is tender, about 10 minutes. Roughly mash the squash with a potato masher or fork.

Meanwhile, heat a heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and, breaking the meat up into bite-size pieces, cook until brown. Remove from heat, drain the fat and combine with the squash.

Make the Béchamel-Sage Sauce (recipe follows).

Cook the lasagna noodles according to package directions less 1 minute. (Noodles sticking together? Check out my tip to keep lasagna noodles from sticking.)

Put the mozzarella, Parmesan and Romano cheeses in a large bowl and toss to combine. Butter a large, deep ceramic or glass baking pan.

Spread about 3/4 cup of béchamel-sage sauce in the bottom of the prepared baking pan. Arrange 4 lasagna noodles on top of the sauce. Spread 1/3 of the squash-sausage mixture and 1/2 of the ricotta over the noodles; drizzle with 1/3 of the béchamel-sage sauce and sprinkle with 1/3 of the cheese. Repeat with a second layer of noodles, squash-sausage, ricotta, béchamel and cheeses. Make a third and final layer with the remaining noodles, squash-sausage, béchamel and cheeses.

Cover the pan with foil. (You can refrigerate for up to one day at this point.) Bake the lasagna for 45 minutes (longer if it is cold from the refrigerator). Remove the foil and continue baking until the lasagna is bubbly and golden brown, about 15 minutes. Let the lasagna sit for 15 minutes before serving.

Béchamel-Sage Sauce
4 tablespoons butter
6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
4 cups whole milk
1 tablespoon fresh chopped sage
1/2 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Melt the butter in a heavy saucepan over medium heat. Add the flour and cook, whisking continuously, for 1 minute. Gradually whisk in the milk. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat. Whisk in the sage and thyme. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, whisking often, until the sauce thickens slightly, about 5 minutes. Whisk in the nutmeg and add salt and pepper to taste.

You can make this dish in advance (up to 3 days). Cool to room temperature, skim the excess fat and store covered in the refrigerator. Bring the pot to a simmer over medium heat and then transfer to a 325 degree oven for 30 minutes or until the sauce is bubbling and the beef is warmed through.

.

Print-friendly version of this post.
One Year Ago – Gingerbread Cupcakes
Two Years Ago – Buttery Chocolate Almond Brittle
Three Years Ago – Pork Stew Paprika

Do you have a favorite stew or braise recipe? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new stories and recipes.

Want more? Feel free to visit my photoblog Susan Nye 365 or click here for more recipes and magazine articles or here to watch me cook!I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good.

© Susan W. Nye, 2011

14 thoughts on “Trick or Treat & Butternut Squash Lasagna

  1. Susan, you know I have tried and loved many of your recipes. Over the years I have cut them out of the newspaper and have accumulated quite a collection. As I try them I then save them to my notebook of recipes. About three weeks ago, I came across this recipe and thought it sounded pretty good. Can I tell just much this exceeded my expectations??? My guests loved it and asked for your recipe. It was absolutely delicious! Thank you for all your stories and recipes, I remain a devoted follower!!

    Sue J

    Like

    • Sue – You were the first person to stop me on the street and tell me that you had made one of my recipes. It made me feel very proud and I will always remember it. I’m so glad you made the butternut squash lasagna – it is very labor intensive but so worth it! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Take care, Susan

      Like

  2. I have a pretty serious addiction to all things butternut squash. I truly have no words to adequately convey how amazing this lasagna sounds to me. I would give anything for some time to prepare this. I know we would LOVE it.

    Like

    • Candace – It’s a good dish to make on a rainy or snowy day! Or save it for a special celebration. It’s not really any more time consuming than a regular lasagna (unless of course you’ve got a pint of sauce in the freezer). It’s all about multitasking – while the squash is roasting – saute the sausage, make the bechamel, grate the cheese and cook the noodles! Phew! … It’s also good without the sausage if you have vegetarians in the house. I like that you can do the whole thing early in the day, even the day before, and bake it at dinner time. I developed this recipe for my dad’s 80th birthday … and made four of them at once. They were a huge hit. His 85th is coming up – maybe an encore! Take care and happy cooking – Susan

      Like

      • With winter rapidly approaching, I can definitely see me making this on a snowy Saturday. I can only imagine how your house smells while it’s cooking. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe!

        Like

  3. Susan,

    With all the fall sports going on, I’m in full casserole mode. The only problem is that most casseroles taste like what their made of (cans of condensed soup, ground beef, potatoes). So glad Jamie pointed me this way to your Butternut Squash lasagna. I’m making it this weekend for the gang.

    Wendy

    Like

  4. Hi Susan, The butternut squash lasagna sounds awesome. Karen makes homemade noodles all the time and would love this. I tried to click on the “print friendly version” and the link didn’t work. Am I doing something wrong.
    I can’t wait to try it, Margaret

    Like

    • J. – Just think – if you try it and succeed (and of course you will – it’s not difficult – just a lot of steps) you can cook anything! And it is divine! You can prep it in advance and be cleaned up and cool when your friends arrive. It is great comfort food for fall. Enjoy … and let me know how it goes. S.

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

