Weekend Special – Pasta Supper

First — don’t forget to change your clocks on Saturday night!

The snow from last weekend’s storm of the century has mostly melted. With any luck we are in for a warm (at least relatively warm) and mostly sunny weekend. What luck! We even have an extra hour to enjoy it on Sunday! It’ll be a great weekend to be out and about. And maybe spend a little time in the kitchen.

On Sunday, I’ll be roasting grapes for salad and basting a chicken for one of my Eat Well-Do Good dinners. What about you?

As soon as the sun goes down the air turns chilly, so a bit of comfort food would not be out of line. Whenever I want a simple and comforting supper, I think of pasta. Spaghetti was my favorite dinner as a kid so maybe it’s a childhood holdover. Fettuccine with Escarole, Radicchio & Mushrooms sounds like a good idea. The combination of woodsy mushrooms, slightly bitter radicchio and escarole, nutty Parmigiano-Reggiano is wonderful. Then again, I need to give my sage plant a haircut before I put it to bed for the winter so Raviolis with Sage Pesto might be just the ticket. Alternatively, Tortellini à la Crème is a warm and cozy dinner on a chilly night. For even more options, check out my new recipe index for a links to my favorite pasta (and more) recipes.

Keeping it simple, just add a salad … before or after the pasta. Insalata Caprese would be a great start to your meal. Now that local tomato season is over, I suggest you roast all of the tomatoes. Roasting will intensify their flavor. I like the European habit of eating salad after the main course. If you do too, Mixed Greens with a Classic Vinaigrette or Caesar Salad will be just the ticket.

Earlier this week I wrote and photographed a Christmas cookie story for Parenting New Hampshire’s December issue. The house was filled with the warm and wonderful scent of orange, chocolate and spice. If you’re in a cookie mood, I’d like to suggest my Root ‘n’ Tooty Good ‘n’ Fruity Oatmeal Cookies. A twist on an old fashioned are favorite, these hearty cookies are filled with sweet surprises.

Have a great week end and buon appetito!

Click Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

What’s cooking in your kitchen this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “Weekend Special – Pasta Supper

  1. Hello Susan, I have never tried roasting grapes, sounds good. I love roast chicken, it is my faveorite Sunday meal. This weekend I will be making post roast in my slow clooker. My husband loves it, I do not eat meat so I will make myself a salad. 🙂

    Enjoy our lovely weekend weather.

    Mary

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

