Weekend Special – Double Duty

With Thanksgiving a few weeks away, my mind’s on the big feast and not on what’s cookin’ this weekend!

I’ll be cooking this Thanksgiving but not at home. Next week I’ll be winging my way down to Florida for a warm and sunny Thanksgiving break. I’ll start the meal with a favorite fall salad of Mixed Greens and Roasted Squash. However, for everyone spending the holiday in the chilly north, soup is definitely in order for the harvest feast.

And that’s why Thanksgiving soup is the inspiration for this weekend’s menu suggestion!  A beautiful soup of puréed butternut squash or wild mushrooms is perfect for the holiday feast. They freeze beautifully so make one (or both) this weekend and stick it in the freezer until Thanksgiving morning.

Which got me to thinking …

If you are making soup this weekend; why not roast a few extra mushrooms or a bit more squash for risotto? As far as I can figure everyone loves risotto. I’ve been lobbying to put it on my Thanksgiving menu for years. Unfortunately my conservative New England family, as much as they love risotto, not a one of them is willing to trade in their favorite Smashed Potatoes for risotto.

Risotto is perfect for an almost-vegetarian meal (you can make it with vegetable broth but I prefer chicken stock.) If you like, top the butternut squash risotto with a few Seared Scallops or grill up some of your favorite sausages to go with the mushroom. In all cases, I like to serve risotto with a spoonful of Stir-fried Leafy Greens. I love the combination of creamy rice, nutty Parmigiano-Reggiano and bitter greens.

And if your sweet tooth craves a little sumpin sumpin at end the meal? Look no further than Affogato. Café Glacé in French, this wonderful combination of ice cream and espresso couldn’t be easier. And yes, as long as you use very good espresso, you can make it with decaf.

Have a great week end and buon appetito!

Stir-fried Leafy Greens
Serves 4

Extra virgin olive oil
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
Pinch or to taste chili flakes
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 -2 pounds leafy greens; tough ribs removed, washed and cut into pieces – I like Swiss chard, escarole, spinach and radicchio
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Put a little olive oil in a wok or large skillet, add the garlic and chili flakes. Cook over very low heat until the garlic is lightly browned.

Raise the heat to medium-high and add the greens in large handfuls. Season the greens with salt and pepper and toss. As the greens begin to wilt add more until they are all in the pan. Cook until the greens are all wilted but still bright and tender. Sprinkle with lemon juice and serve.

My Butternut Squash Soup and Wild Mushroom Soup recipes are just a click away. For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What’s cooking in your kitchen this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

