Thanksgiving Special – Tinkering with Tradition

Three Thanksgiving Menus & Game Plans to Celebrate with Ease

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

I’ve put together three menus and game plans to help you make it through the feast of feasts in one piece. Whether you choose traditional New England, French Bistro or Rustic Italian – have a wonderful holiday!

Traditional New England Fare
~.~.~
Butternut Squash Soup
~.~
Roast Turkey with Mom’s (or your Mom’s) Stuffing and Giblet Gravy
Cranberry Sauce
Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Pearl Onions or Broccoli Puree or Roasted Green Beans
Decadent Cheesy Potatoes or Smashed Potatoes
~.~
Apple Crisp with Cranberry Coulis or Rustic Apple Tart

The Game Plan for this flawless day of family and fun!

~.~.~.~

Five Course French Bistro Dinner
~.~.~
Wild Mushroom Soup
~.~
Roast Turkey with Giblet Sauce
Cranberry Sauce
Savory Butternut Squash & Swiss Chard Bread Pudding
~.~
Mixed Greens with Roasted Grapes, Olives and Feta
~.~
Cheese Platter
~.~
Rustic Apple Croustade

The Game Plan to make it happen

~.~.~.~

Rustic Italian Feast
~.~
Mixed Greens and Roasted Mushrooms
~.~
Roast Turkey with Giblet Sauce
Cranberry Sauce
Roasted Butternut Squash Risotto with Stir-fried Leafy Greens
~.~
White Chocolate & Cranberry Trifle

The Game Plan for this relaxing feast.

~.~.~.~.~.~

Bon appétit!  *  Buon Appetito!  *  Happy Thanksgiving!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What are you cooking for Thanksgiving? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Special – Tinkering with Tradition

  1. I made your wonderful wild mushroom soup a month or so ago. My mistake was, I didn’t use enough of the dried mushrooms, or the white fresh ones I bought, and failed to scale down the cream accordingly, as I was going for a half-batch, for one. This weakened the woodsy mushroom flavor I was hoping for.

    However, a surprise rescue occured, when I froze the extra, and later used it to make a green bean casserole! Now, that turned out nicely. Baked with an au gratin crust. I still have one more container frozen and will use it in my next green bean casserole, while making sure to properly halve all of the ingredients the next batch. Thanks for this recipe!

    Like

    • Spectra – you’re welcome. No need to cut the recipe in half next time – this soup freezes beautifully. It’s best to freeze it before adding the cream. I’ve never used it with green beans but I have used it as a sauce for chicken – a homemade version of my mom’s old chicken and Campbell’s mushroom soup. I enjoyed your recent menopause/hot flash post. Hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving, Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

