Thanksgiving Weekend Special – Get Creative with the Leftovers

Thanksgiving weekend is all about family, friends, football … and … leftovers! As a matter of fact, I know one or two people who like the leftovers more than Thursday’s main event.

Delicious dishes for Thanksgiving weekend.

Depending on how large a turkey you cooked, at some point I suspect you may get a little tired of turkey sandwiches. When you’re ready for a change, try my Stir-fry Vegetables with Turkey. If you want something heartier, go with Penne Gratin with Turkey & Butternut Squash.

Soup is my favorite Thanksgiving leftover. The day after Thanksgiving I go to work on the bird. First I remove and store any large pieces of turkey that are still on the carcass. I always leave some behind to flavor the turkey stock. Next I throw the bones into the stock pot and spend the morning simmering up a big batch of Turkey Stock. Use some now to make soup and freeze the rest.

To mix it up, add a little spice to your soup. Both my Thai Curried Noodle Soup with Turkey & Vegetables and Spicy Turkey Noodle Soup are sure to please.

If you don’t already, try an old Nye tradition … the first one up on Friday morning gets the last piece of Thanksgiving pie!

Bon appétit and have a great weekend!

What are your favorite dishes made with Thanksgiving leftovers? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog or Here  for seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Weekend Special – Get Creative with the Leftovers

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

