Sweet Holidays to You & Ginger Crème Brûlée

It was a long time ago but looking back, I am filled with sympathy for the poor postman who came to our house everyday on Jackson Road. It wasn’t the dogs in the neighborhood, they were friendly. It was the holidays. Throughout December in freezing rain, sleet and snow he dragged his overloaded bag down slippery sidewalks and clamored over snow banks to reach our front door. Not just Christmas cards, he came bearing gifts. A few were from distant relatives but most were from business friends and colleagues of my dad’s. There were weighty ceramic crocks filled with cheese from Wisconsin and boxes of fruit from Florida.

One year the mailman brought us a fruitcake. I guess it was our turn.

It is not clear which was heaviest, the five pounds of cheese encased in thick crockery, the bushel of oranges or the fruitcake. Hailed as deluxe and coming all the way from Texas, that cake was studded with pecans and chock full of icky-sticky, brightly colored candied fruit. I know because, against my mother’s better judgment, I insisted that we try it

Mom was pessimistic and tried to dissuade me. But already a budding foodie and curious about most things culinary, my argument was simple. We liked fruit. We like cake. We liked my grandmother’s blueberry cake which combined fruit and cake. It only made sense that we would like this fruitcake from Texas.

I can’t be sure but I think I caught her in a moment of weakness. I’m guessing Mom was contemplating re-gifting and no doubt feeling guilty about it. She shouldn’t have been. As far as experts can determine there are only a couple hundred fruitcakes in existence. It only seems like more because they continually circle the globe in an endless cycle of re-gifting.

When I found her at the kitchen table with the fruitcake, Mom was checking her list in hopes of finding a good candidate for this hefty delight. Of course she couldn’t give it to the mailman. He’s the one who’d brought this plague of a gift into our house in the first place. The milkman, the cleaning lady and my great-aunt Bess were almost certainly on the list of possibilities. I interrupted her dithering and suggested that we try some. To her credit, Mom tried to explain the truth about fruitcake but I was seven or eight and innocent enough to think that cake was … well … cake.

That was the first, last and only time I’ve eaten fruitcake from Texas. Fancy tin or not, I’ve not been fooled again.

This doesn’t mean I’ve turned my back on sweet yuletide treats. Far from it. Over the years I’ve discovered that some, like ribbon candy, look better than they taste. Others, like sugar cookies and Aunt Anna’s Pecan Pie are nothing less than holiday kitchen icons. And yes, I’ve been drawn in by some new trend or a glossy photograph on more than one occasion. The first time it was Bûche de Noel. I was in high school and spotted one of these magnificent cakes on the cover of Ladies Home Journal or maybe it was McCall’s. Thinking it would give our Christmas Eve table a little continental flare, Bûche de Noel became my contribution to the family feast. After a few years, I got bored with the Bûche but have continued to create an ever-changing parade of festive holiday treats. Everything from cookies, cookies and more cookies to chocolate cakes and crème brûlée have made their way into and out of my oven.

And yes, I do take requests.

Best wishes for a sweet holiday and bon appétit!

Ginger Crème Brûlée
This is my latest favorite Christmas Eve dessert. I served it for the first time last year and it was so good it’s on for an encore! Enjoy!
Serves 6-8

3 cups heavy cream
2 tablespoons minced ginger
1 large egg
5 large egg yolks
1/2 cup brown sugar
Pinch salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon dark rum
1-2 teaspoons sugar for each serving

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Stirring occasionally, bring the cream and ginger to a simmer in a heavy saucepan over low heat. Remove the pan from the heat and let it steep for about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine the egg, egg yolks, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon with an electric mixer on low speed.

With the mixer on medium speed, very slowly add the warm cream to the eggs. (If you add it too quickly or in one go, the warm cream could scramble the eggs.) Add the vanilla and rum and combine. Strain the custard through a fine-mesh sieve into a large measuring cup. Pour the custard into 4- or 6-ounce ramekins until almost full.

Arrange the ramekins in a baking or roasting pan. Carefully pour boiling water into the pan until it comes about halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake for about 40 minutes or until the custards are set. Add more water to the pan if needed.

Carefully remove the ramekins from the water bath, cool to room temperature and refrigerate for at least two hours.

To serve, sprinkle 1-2 teaspoons sugar evenly over the top of each custard and heat with a kitchen blowtorch until the sugar caramelizes. Let the crème brûlées sit for a minute or two until the caramelized sugar hardens and serve.

Print-friendly version of this post.
One Year Ago – Aunt Anna’s Pecan Pie
Two Years Ago – White Chocolate & Cranberry Trifle
Three Years Ago – Chicken with Mushrooms, Tomatoes and Penne

Or Click Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new stories and recipes.

Want more? Feel free to visit my photoblog Susan Nye 365 or click here for more recipes and magazine articles or here to watch me cook!I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good.

© Susan W. Nye, 2011

8 thoughts on “Sweet Holidays to You & Ginger Crème Brûlée

  1. As I was doing my online recipe search for a super special creme brulé, yours really stood out. It was the minced ginger that got my attention with this recipe. I just whipped up a batch and I am now regretting that I made it so far in advance of the holiday because I don’t think that I will be able to restrain myself from eating this, all alone in my kitchen, right out of the bowl, at every possible opportunity. It’s positively delicious!

    June and daughter Gina

    Like

  2. Hi Susan,
    I am shocked to hear bad things being said about traditional fruit cake! Here in Ireland, the Christmas cake is as much a part of the season as the tree or Santa. My beloved, long suffering wife made ours last September. It has been maturing in foil since then. It will be sliced on Christmas evening and will sate those post dinner hunger pangs.
    We do make a very different kind of cake over here. And, yes, we do pour whiskey over it before wrapping it in foil to mature. Please leave me off the circulation list for the ‘tinned terror’ you describe.
    Lovely post,
    Conor

    Like

    • Thanks Conor … love the name ‘tinned terrors’! Yes your Irish fruitcake is very different from the one that arrived on our doorstep so many years ago. Happy Christmas to you – Susan

      Like

  3. Sharyn – Thanks for stopping by! Creme Brulee is very rich … but sooo good. I like to make it in 4 ounce ramekins – that way you don’t overdose on cream.

    The English make a lovely fruitcake – instead of that sticky candied fruit it’s made with raisins, dried currents, figs and dates and laced with brandy or rum. Although quite heavy and rich, it is tasty.

    Happy holiday baking – Susan

    Like

  4. I love creme brulee and I love ginger. So far I have been resistant to baking something with heavy cream and extra egg yolks in it because of all of the pounds of butter we go through at Christmas, but your recipe is awfully tempting — maybe I’ll make it for my birthday in February.

    By the way, my mother made fruitcake for years: she, her mother, her brothers and several neighbors all ate it: I concluded that the fruitcake-eating gene skipped my generation.

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

