Weekend Special … Comfort Food

Maybe it’s the after holiday let-down.
Then again, maybe it’s the cold, grey day. 

Whatever the cause, we’re all in a need of a little comfort and a little comfort food. Fight the cold by filing your house with the warm and wonderful aroma of braising beef, lamb, chicken or fish.

Need a little inspiration? A few ideas? Here goes!

What could be better than an ode to Julia with Braised Beef Bourguignon? Well, maybe a traditional Carbonnade á la Flamande – beef is braised with lots of onions in beer in this yummy Belgian specialty. Tired of beef? How about a beautiful Braised Lamb with Artichokes and Mushrooms. (Watch me make this wonderful lamb dish on WMUR’s Cook’s Corner.) For a little spice, try my Sort’a Like Jambalaya or Spicy Chicken Stew.

What will I be cooking up this weekend? The next Eat Well-Do Good dinner is this coming Sunday, January 8th!

As of a few minutes ago, there are two seats available. I would be delighted to see you around my table next month!

I’ll be cooking a delicious Mediterranean Seafood Stew (but Caribbean Fish Stew would also be a great choice!)

We’ll start with a great salad. I’m leaning towards Caesar Salad with Parmesan Croutons but I just bought some mushrooms and Mixed Greens with Roasted Mushrooms, Gorgonzola & Toasted Walnuts is pretty tempting.

For dessert, I’ll be serving tiny cups of creamy, sweet and hot White Chocolate with my favorite Snowballs.

Enjoy and bon appétit!

What’s your favorite cold weather dishes? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Feel free to visit my photoblog, Susan Nye 365 or my cleverly named other blog, Susan Nye’s Other Blog, or website www.susannye.com. You can find more than 200 recipes, links to magazine articles and lots more. I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2012

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

