Weekend Special … Another Football Sunday

The field is narrowing. It’s the AFC and NFC Championships this Sunday. Baltimore travels to Foxboro to play New England’s beloved Patriots in the afternoon.  And if you need more, the Giants battle San Francisco in the evening.

Will the neighborhood crowd into your living room? Maybe you’ll take a road trip down the street to watch at someone else’s house.

Host with the most or guest without the mess … Okay, guest/mess, it’s weak, a stretch and not a good one, but cut me some slack. I’ll come back later and change it if I get a little poetic inspiration. For now it time to think menus and get cooking. (Even if you are guest, your host will appreciate a little help.)

It may seem girlie but I’m thinking appetizers. If you agree then try my Hoisin Chicken Wings. Next add some Mediterranean Shrimp and/or Spanakopita Triangles. And how about some crostini? My favorites include Goat Cheese, Roasted Tomatoes & Olives, Mushrooms and Caponata. Don’t forget your vegetables! How about a beautiful platter of fresh veggies with Roasted Red Pepper & Walnut Dip.

If you’re not entirely comfortable doing the whole grazing, appetizers for dinner thing, have a big pot of soup on the stove. Take a break from chili and serve my hearty and yummy French Lentil Soup.

For a sweet end to your football marathon, top it off with Carrot Cupcakes (tint the frosting to match your team’s colors) or my nieces’ favorite Peanut Butter Brownies.

Have a great weekend, enjoy the games and bon appétit!

What’s your favorite game food? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus or Here for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog! And finally, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2012

2 thoughts on “Weekend Special … Another Football Sunday

  1. Susan, your appetizers sound yummy–I may have to give goat cheese crostini a try, though I’m not sure how my meat-and-potatoes husband will react. BTW, it is the NFC and AFC–they haven’t been the AFL and NFL for many, many years. 😉 Go Pats!!!

    Like

    • Thanks Linda – I admit I know nothing about football. I blame it on spending most of my adult life in Switzerland. Whatever glimmer of interest I had when I left the States dissipated over the almost 2 decades I was away. Thanks for your help. The crostini may not be meat-and-potatoes but who doesn’t like cheese? BTW – congrats on your recent nuptials! Take care – S.

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

