In the Kitchen with a Really Big Bowl

Today’s tip … if you don’t have one get a really big bowl.

I’m not talking about a big bowl, the kind that comes in those sets of three which you buy in the kitchen or department store. Most of those bowls are all of four quarts, six if you’re lucky. At least half of my Lucy moments during my Spanakopita and many other early kitchen fiascos could have been avoided if I’d had a really big bowl.

Don’t get me wrong, I have a couple of those four quart bowls and use them all the time. They are great for mixing up a cake or tossing a salad for the family. But when you need to toss salad for a neighborhood block party, mix up stuffing for a twenty pound turkey or prepare a ice water bath to cool down a custard … there is nothing like a really, really big bowl.

Several years ago with thirty-five people invited for a backyard cookout, I faced reality and purchased my first really, really big bowl … fourteen quarts to be exact. While a giant bowl would be gorgeous in artisanal ceramic and glamorous in glass, it would too heavy to lift. A bowl like that would look beautiful on an entry table in a palatial home but hardly screams practicality when it comes to cooking. Talk about Lucy moments! My overactive imagination quickly congers up visions of giant shards of glass mixed with a field of baby greens on  the terrace.

So I brought a plastic one home. In the beginning it almost looked like glass. But wear and tear have left their marks and scratches so except for a trip to the beach now and then, it stays in the kitchen. Same holds true for the two eight quart bowls, one in plastic and the second in stainless steel. All three are workhorses, light and easy to lift and manipulate. Thanks to those bowls, regardless of what I’m cooking, no matter how big the batch, I can mix or toss to my heart’s content.

Happy cooking and bon appétit!

More Tips, Tricks & Tools

What’s your must-have kitchen tool tip? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for lots more to read, see & cook! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2012

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

