Weekend Special – A Cozy Eat Well – Do Good Dinner

I’m looking forward to another Eat Well – Do Good dinner on Sunday. If you are not sure what to cook this weekend, cook along with me. Here’s what’s on my menu:

To nibble? Dinner is served around 7:00 but my guests are welcome to arrive anytime after 6:30. (Any earlier and they might catch me in the shower!) I always like to have a few Roasted Almonds or Sugar & Spice Pecans and Spicy Olives on hand to nibble.

Next, à table (that’s French for at the table) … we’ll enjoy a salad of Mixed Greens, maybe with Roasted Mushrooms. Then again, I might go with Roasted Squash. Both salads are delicious and I haven’t been to the market yet.

For the main event I’ll fill the house with the warm and wonderful perfume of braised beef. This time it’s Carbonnade á la Flamande. It’s a yummy Belgian specialty. Beef is slowly braised with lots of onions and beer. I’ll serve the beef with Smashed Potatoes. They are homey and cozy and a family favorite.

And to top it all off? It’s been awhile since I made Chocolate Mousse and it’s a great crowd pleaser. Who doesn’t love chocolate? I’ll add a few strawberries and a dollop of whipped cream for a rich and cozy end to the evening.

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

What will you be cooking up this weekend I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click Here! for more seasonal menus or Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

I invite you to take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2012

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

