Inspiration … Deal with It

I’ve been grumpy and complaining about our New Hampshire spring.  Everything is brown and gray. Fresh local fruits and vegetables will come, eventually, but not for a couple of months. Whether I use her traditional recipes or not, it’s time to channel Nana Nye,  knuckle up  (or is that knuckle or buckle down) and deal with it!

.

Thanks to Chef Mario Batali for today’s inspiration.

“The tradition of Italian cooking is that of the matriarch. This is the cooking of grandma. She didn’t waste time thinking too much about the celery. She got the best celery she could and then she dealt with it.”  …………………………………… Chef Mario Batali


.
.
My New England Nana Nye with her 1930 edition of The Boston Cooking School Cook Book by 
Fannie Merritt Farmer
. Nana was not Italian but she too dealt with it.
.
.
.

 .
What are you cooking this spring? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.  

Want more? Click here for lots more to read, see & cook! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2012

3 thoughts on “Inspiration … Deal with It

  1. 2012 will probably be known around here as the winter of leeks and tangerines — I have been dealing with both since January in seemingly endless supply, with more coming in today’s farm box. I have made soup and quiche, hid leeks in lasagna and other soups, given them away. I have made tangerine curd, tangerine vinaigrette, tangerine and spinach salad, tangerine-almond cake. I would candy some whole but this lot have seeds in them. If you have any leek or tangerine suggestions, I would love to have them! Because it is cold and rainy here we are still eating a lot of soups, pastas, homemade pizza and bread.

    Like

    • Sharyn – Craig Claiborne has an onion pie which I’ve made many times but not in awhile. It’s a lot like a quiche. You saute up a bunch of onions with S+P, a little thyme, maybe rosemary and garlic until lightly browned – I would use leeks, leeks and more leek plus some onions in various colors, spring onions if you have them. You need a lot of onions and leeks, enough to loosely fill a pie or tart pan. Cool the onions to room temperature and put them in a pastry lined pie or tart pan. Add an egg-milk custard and bake like you would a quiche.

      I think I’ll have to write this up with all the details for the blog. Mothers’ Day is coming and it’s a good lunch/brunch dish. A nice change from a traditional quiche.

      If you need a dessert – I’d turn some of the tangerine curd into a mousse.

      Good luck and enjoy the leeks (send some to NH – they are very expensive here!) – Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

