Weekend Special – Happy Mothers’ Day

Hip hip hooray it’s Mothers’ Day this weekend. If you are not sure what to cook for your favorite mom or moms this weekend, maybe I can help!

First, what’s your plan … breakfast in bed? Brunch or lunch? Or a festive dinner? Here are a few ideas:

Breakfast in bed? Keep it simple and save room for a great noontime brunch. I remember bringing cold English muffins and orange juice to my mom when I was little. If you’ve got a great bakery in your neighborhood, why not take it up a notch with a warm croissant? Or a delicious bagel with Smoked Salmon Mousse? Or bake up a beautiful batch of Blueberry Muffins or Lemon Scones. Add a steaming cup of freshly brewed coffee or tea and a few strawberries.

Join forces for great family brunch: There are a lot of great options for the main event from Brie & Sun-dried Tomato Omelets for a small crowd (omelets for twelve or twenty are a bit of a pain) to a beautiful savory tart or two or three for a crowd. My favorites include Spinach Ricotta Pie,Tomato, Olive and Feta Tart and Tarte à l’Oignon (Onion Tart).

But what about side dishes? The market is full of asparagus and most of it is on special. I love Roasted Asparagus & Walnuts and they will make a great addition to your brunch. (If you’ve got an extra minute or two, watch me make the asparagus with Erin Fehlau on WMUR’s Cook’s Corner.) Lemon Roasted Potatoes will be a lighter and brighter alternative to hash browns. And finally, don’t forget to add a big garden salad with mixed greens and lots of fresh veggies tossed with a Classic Vinaigrette.

End on a sweet note with Strawberry & White Chocolate Fool. (Strawberries are also on special at my local market this week. They aren’t local but they are still lovely.) Or make up a some Lavender Infused White Chocolate Crème and serve it with lots of fresh berries. If your mom is a chocoholic like mine, she’ll love my Esspresso Brownies.

And if you’d rather do dinner than brunch? Start with Fennel & Feta Salad or Mixed Greens with Roasted Grapes. Next, keep the Asparagus and Lemon Potatoes on the menu but add Roasted or Grilled Salmon.

Not into salmon, how about a Roast Chicken or Grilled Lamb.

And for dessert? Any of the brunch suggestions will work beautifully at dinner but I’d go with Fresh Strawberries with Lavender Infused White Chocolate Crème!

Have a wonderful weekend! Bon appétit!

Want more? Click Here! for more seasonal menus or Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

What’s on tap for you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button.

And if you’ve got a minute … many thanks for taking a look at my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. Why not join me at the next Eat Well-Do Good dinner?

© Susan W. Nye, 2012

3 thoughts on “Weekend Special – Happy Mothers’ Day

    • Many thanks Chris … it’s a lovely day here in NH – so I’m cooking dinner for my M&D tonight. Brunch is for rainy days! Looking forward to a walk around the lake in a couple of hours. Happy Mothers’ Day – Susan

      Like

      • You are so lucky to have your parents still with you Susan. My kiddos have flown the coop, so today I’ll put my husband in charge of the grill…I must say my new son-in-law is 6’6″ and loves to eat – which was the first thing I liked about him! Have a wonderful lake walk.

        Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

