In the Kitchen with Herbs

With summer here or at least fast approaching, it is wonderful to cook with herbs fresh from the garden. My still untamed oregano is roaming the backyard. My chives, thyme and tarragon are thriving. Newly planted rosemary and mint are flourishing.

All too often we (and by we I mean at least me) think of herbs as an after-thought or a bit of green to add a an otherwise dull plate. And optional … particularly when that bunch in the supermarket looks tired and tasteless. As obvious as it sounds, we (and again that means me)  sometimes forget that herbs are more than a garnish … they are food.

Especially in summer and especially in salads, why not add a handful (not just a sprinkle) of fresh herbs? Toss mint and cilantro with romaine in a Thai Salad or tarragon, parsley and mint with Israeli couscous in my Couscous Salad with Grilled Vegetables.

And on a rainy, chilly night? What could be better than Pesto? And when it’s not rainy or chilly? Pesto is great in a pasta salad!

Happy cooking with fresh herbs and bon appétit!

More Tips, Tricks & Tools

What’s your favorite herb? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for lots more to read, see & cook! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2012

3 thoughts on “In the Kitchen with Herbs

  1. Pingback: Fresh herbs, rhubarb, and other fun foods | f00dventures

    • Susan – Sounds lovely. My herbs don’t like being inside – especially my north facing kitchen window … they spent part of the winter in the garage and the rest in a sunny window. They are delighted to be back outside. Thanks for stopping by – Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

