In the Kitchen with My Food Mill

With cooler weather, cooking comes off the grill and into the kitchen. It’s a good time to make soup, soup and more soup. Soups loaded with veggies, packed with lentils or beans or filled with noodles and spice – I love them all. Many of my favorite soups are puréed to a chunky or smooth perfection. Two soups,Butternut Squash and Wild Mushroom, stand out. Enjoy either in a mug with a good book for lunch, serve them in your finest china at an elegant dinner or invite your guests to sip them from espresso cups at a cocktail party.

You can whip up a puréed soup in the food processor (chunky) or blender (smooth) or use a food mill. I discovered food mills when I lived in Switzerland. An old boyfriend who was particularly fond of smooth and creamy soups inspired me to buy my first moulinette. Widely used in Europe, I found mine in the supermarket. In the US, you can find them in specialty kitchen stores or on-line.

Unlike a food processor or blender, a food mill purées vegetables while it separates out the seeds, peels and fibrous bits. If you don’t feel like seeding and peeling the tomatoes and want a very smooth base, you can use it to purée the tomatoes, carrots, celery and onions in my Roasted Tomato Soup with Corn. It is also handy for making mashed potatoes, marmalade and apple sauce.

Bon appétit!

More Tips, Tricks & Tools

How will you celebrate the summer solstice? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for lots more to read, see & cook! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. ©Susan W. Nye, 2012

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen with My Food Mill

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

