It’s a Rainy Fall Weekend Special – How About Some Comfort Food?

I woke up this morning to the pitter pat of rain. Checking my sources (weather.com), it looks like there will be more of the same for several days. Cold and rainy can only mean one thing … it’s time for some comfort food. Whether you are packing the house with friends and neighbors this weekend, planning a festive family feast or a quiet dinner for two, comfort food is the way to go.

So what’s on the menu?

First course or main course, soup works for me! Nothing warms you up like a mug or bowl of soup. It’s even great at cocktail parties; serve the soup in tiny espresso cups for a two or three sip treat. Roasted Butternut Squash Soup is a perennial favorite, but I also like Wild Mushroom. If you want a heartier, meal-in-a-bowl soup, consider Curried Chicken and Lentil Soup or my Nana Nye’s Prize Winning New England Fish Chowder.

However, for this weekend I’m thinking of a classic, Italian-American dinner. It just says comfort to me. So I’ll leave the soup for lunch time (or Sunday night supper). An Antipasto Platter would be perfect way to start. Load it up with vegetables, charcuterie, cheeses, a few Roasted Almonds and Spicy Olives. And then, relax. Ignore or enjoy the gentle sound of rain on the roof while you nibble and sip a glass of wine in front of the fire.

When it’s time to gather around the table, what could be better (and more traditional) than Chicken Parmagiana with Spaghetti Marinara.

By the way, a rainy weekend is the perfect time to make up a big batch of Marinara Sauce. Double or triple the recipe. It will come in handy throughout the fall and long winter.

And dessert? Apples are in season, even if I won’t be picking in the rain. My Rustic Apple Tart sounds good. Then again, coffee and ice cream enthusiasts might prefer Affogato.

Enjoy the first official fall weekend! Bon appétit!

Want more? Click Here! for more seasonal menus or Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

What’s on tap for you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button.

And if you’ve got a minute … many thanks for taking a look at my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. Why not join me at the next Eat Well-Do Good dinner?

© Susan W. Nye, 2012

2 thoughts on “It’s a Rainy Fall Weekend Special – How About Some Comfort Food?

    • Chris – It had been years for me but I recently had a request for an Italian dinner. I decided to go retro and Chicken Parm it was! It was a big hit and I’ve been looking for an opportunity to post the recipe. This week it all came together. Hope it’s sunny where you are. Enjoy – Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

