Another Weekend Special – Blue Sky Is Back!

Blue sky is peaking through the trees. Sunshine is a welcome relief after Sandy’s rain, wind and more rain. We escaped with only a brief power outage and life is now back to what passes for normal.

If you have friends or family without power, now is a great time to invite them over for dinner … and a hot shower!

From start to finish – think comfort food. It’s been a crazy week. No need to rush. Relax in front of the fire with a glass of wine. And for nibbles … toasty Mushroom Crostini or cups of cozy Butternut Squash Soup will help get you started.

When it’s time to move to the table … My Chicken in Every Pot will be warm and welcoming. Serve the chicken with lightly homemade buttered noodles (it’s okay if you can’t do homemade – I won’t tell) and Roasted Green Beans.

For a comforting dessert, you can’t beat Apple Crisp or Apple Bread Pudding. Then again, last weekend, one thing after another interrupted my cupcake baking… so maybe I’ll finally get to it!?!

Have a great weekend. Bon appétit!

What are your plans for this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click Here! for more seasonal menus or Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

I invite you to take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2012

3 thoughts on “Another Weekend Special – Blue Sky Is Back!

  1. What a great way to meld food into the weather catastrophe. So interesting how food is linked to the weather? Perhaps as old as humans warming themselves to a fire in the cave… Stay warm and safe, Renee

    Like

    • Thanks Renee. A year or two ago I lost power for 4 days – I was so happy and grateful when a friend called and offered her shower and dinner. When bad weather hits we all look for comfort. I was in the supermarket on Wednesday and 3 people came up to me to tell me they had just made or were about to make my black bean soup (recipe posted 10/23). Here’s a new line for us … when the going gets rough, the tough make comfort food! Take care, Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

