Finally, Is It Possible … A Little Relaxation?!? Another Weekend Special

I woke this morning to cold, clear sunshine and the hope and prayer for a quiet weekend. Please no hurricanes, nor’easters or trips to the emergency room! I’m looking forward to time with friends, a little relaxation and maybe a little time in the kitchen. Definitely a good time to bake up Apple Muffins and relax around the kitchen table with a cup of coffee.

For dinner, I’m thinking a great stew or braise will warm both the house and our bellies this weekend. After a little prep work, dinner will bubble in the oven and take care of itself (and let me relax by the fire).

There are so many possibilities. Many you’d like a hearty Carbonnade á la Flamande – Beer Braised Beef & Onions or Braised Lamb with Artichokes and Mushrooms and served with Creamy Polenta. Then again, there are the nice and spicy options like my Sort’a Like Jambalaya or Tex-Mex Braised Beef, Black Beans & Corn. Unless you’ve got a hankering for seafood. That’s when you try for my Mediterranean Seafood Stew or Caribbean Seafood Stew.

Just add a great salad and dinner is done. For a mix of savory, sweet and crunch, try my Crunchy Salad with Apples & Grapes. To compliment Mediterranean flavors you can’t beat, Fennel & Feta Salad. Or try one of my favorite fall salads, Mixed Greens with Roasted Mushrooms, Gorgonzola & Toasted Walnuts.

For dessert, I’m thinking easy which can only mean a wonderful chocolate Pot de Crème or one of my favorites, Affogato. Both are on my could anything this good really be this easy.

And if you can’t quite wait for next weekend to start your Thanksgiving planning? Well take a look at three special menus and game plans which I posted last year for a few ideas.

Have a great weekend. Bon appétit!

What are your plans for this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click Here! for more seasonal menus or Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

I invite you to take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2012

2 thoughts on “Finally, Is It Possible … A Little Relaxation?!? Another Weekend Special

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

