Thanksgiving Weekend Special – Leftovers … Reinventing the Turkey

Thanksgiving weekend is a time to relax and enjoy some time with family and friends. After a few busy days of cooking, cooking and more cooking … it’s time to give thanks for leftovers!

Delicious dishes for Thanksgiving weekend.

Soup is my favorite Thanksgiving leftover. Last night after Thanksgiving dinner was done, I went to work on the bird. I removed and stored a few large pieces of turkey. (There wasn’t much.) I didn’t pick the turkey clean but left some to ensure a nice rich stock. Today I’ll throw the bones into the stock pot to simmer into stock. I’ll use some right away for soup this weekend and freeze the rest for another day.

If you love soup, try my …

Turkey Noodle Soup with Spinach
or
Thai Curried Noodle Soup with Turkey & Vegetables
or
Spicy Turkey Noodle Soup

If you don’t feel like making soup, then how about a

Stir-fry Vegetables with Turkey
or
Penne Gratin with Turkey & Butternut Squash

If you haven’t already, try an old Nye tradition … the first one up on Friday morning gets the last piece of Thanksgiving pie!

Bon appétit and have a great weekend!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What do you do with your Thanksgiving leftovers? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Weekend Special – Leftovers … Reinventing the Turkey

  1. This sounds super delicious. One question…in all of your pics, I don’t see any sign of crushed tomatoes? I am only asking because my husband HATES crushed tomatoes in anything and wondered if this was an original recipe and maybe you had left it out, as I will have to. Thanks for sharing. I love your recipes!!!!!!
    ~Louise

    Like

    • Louise – Thank YOU for your kind words. There are crushed tomatoes in there … they more or less disappear into the broth. The yellow bowl messed a bit with the color and I played around with the photographs. Maybe I overdid it?!? It’s fine to leave the tomatoes out – it will change the taste but it will still be delicious. Have a great weekend! – Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

