It’s a Stay Warm Weekend Special

iciclesChill winds have been blowing through New Hampshire for almost a week now. It looks like this cold weather will continue through the weekend. Not sure what to cook during a deep freeze? Well, my best advice is to think comfort food. And maybe a bit of fiery spice as well.

Here are a few ideas!

Come in out of the cold and relax by the fire. Bring friends together and enjoy a glass of wine. Add a small bowl of Tapenade and a few crackers or raw vegetables to nibble.

Baby it’s cold outside … so why not ask everyone to stay for dinner? Start with a salad. For both easy and elegant, my Red & Green Salad is a great choice for a winter salad.

You can’t beat chili for warm and cozy. My Red Bean Chili with Pork & Butternut Squash is perfect on a cold night. If you like add a piece of cornbread or a spoonful of rice to this one dish supper. Or maybe you’d like a hearty bowl of Harira. This flavorful Middle Eastern soup is loaded with chicken, veggies, chickpeas and lentils.

And for dessert? I’m thinking warm and wonderful … something like like Bananas Foster or maybe Warm Chocolate Pudding.

Enjoy a cozy dinner and bon appétit!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What are you cooking this weekend? I’d love to hear from you. Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2012/em>
For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

6 thoughts on “It’s a Stay Warm Weekend Special

  1. Susan, I really enjoy this blog – you always give me a fresh recipe idea or remind me of an old favorite that I haven’t used in a long time. Thanks for it all & stay warm!

    Like

  2. All of that sounds delicious to me…..the spicier….the better….! This southern girl is fuuuuuuhreeeezing up here this winter!! I have never looked forward to summer so much in my life. Ever. Amen. 🙂

    Like

    • Candace – The year I moved back to NH was one of the coldest on record. This cold snap is forecast to break on Monday. Until then enjoy the fire and a good book! Stay warm – S.

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

