Holiday Special – Christmas Cookies

christmas_cookies_04Have you finished your holiday baking? If not, the meteorologists are forecasting rain for the weekend so the timing couldn’t be better. Here are a few ideas!

Shortbread is great for the holidays, so how about my Ginger Shortbread or Macadamia Nut Shortbread. And for buttery deliciousness, you can’t beat my Snowy Pecan Balls.

Once a month I bake with my mom and her buddies at our local assisted living facility. Today I baked Root ‘n’ Tooty Good ‘n’ Fruity Oatmeal Cookies with the girls. They are the perfect cookies to help Santa keep up his strength on his long route.

If you are feeling rushed (and who isn’t), Sweet Dream Bars are quick and easy. Chocolate lovers can’t miss with my Triple Threat Brownies.

Then there are lovely homemade chocolates and candies! I just sent off a batch of my Chocolate Almond Buttery Brittle to my niece in California. But be careful, it is positively addictive. No less delicious, are my Chocolate Dipped Orange Caramels. For a luxurious treat, try my Chocolate Truffles. Christmas candies are a wonderful addition to your holiday buffet table and make great gifts.

If you are thinking of something sweet as a hostess gift or stocking stuffer, don’t forget my Death by Chocolate Sauce. Just make sure you save some for yourself!

Enjoy everything the holiday season has to offer and bon appétit!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

What sweet treats will you be making during the holidays? I’d love to hear from you. Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! In addition, I hope that you will take a minute to learn about my philanthropic project Eat Well-Do Good. © Susan W. Nye, 2011

4 thoughts on “Holiday Special – Christmas Cookies

  1. Hi, The Rooty, Tooty, Good & Fruity sound wonderful and will try them, but where in the world do you find dried cherries? I’ve looked all over for them.

    Like

    • Lizzie – I have found them at both Market Basket in Warner and Hannafords here in town. You’ll find them next to the dried cranberries – you have to look carefully because the packages are almost identical. I made them yesterday with the girls at Woodcrest and I simplified the recipe – just raisins instead of 3 dried fruits and just semi-sweet chocolate chips … they were still yummy! Right out of the oven they are crispy outside and soft inside. Heavenly! Merry-Merry, Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

