It’s a Birthday Party Special

Happy_DayI’ve got a busy weekend planned. The bad news is I’ll be plugging away at my taxes. The good news is I’m throwing a birthday party for a friend. It will be a Girls Night Out fête filled with good food, wine and stories.

Here’s what I’m planning:

How to start? Someone else is bringing a few treat to nibble; a wedge or two of great cheese and some grav lax. I’ll set out a dish of my Spicy Olives and some Roasted Almonds or Rosemary Cashews. Note to my local supermarket … the last couple of times I looked, you were out of raw cashews.

What about dinner? I’m going with one of my party favorites. You guessed it, Roast Chicken. I’ll serve it with Quinoa with Sweet Potato & Spinach. This all-in-one side dish is an easy solution when you have a crowd. I’ll prep all the vegetables, herbs and pine nuts in advance. While we are all enjoying a glass of wine and a few nibbles, I’ll cook the quinoa and throw everything together.

And dessert? Instead of a traditional birthday cake, I’m thinking of my Panna Cotta with Strawberries. Unless I go with ss you are in the mood for my Lavender Infused White Chocolate Crème, also with strawberries..

Between cooking and bookkeeping, I hope to get at least one walk around the lake. Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

What’s up with you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2014

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

