It’s an Easter Dinner Weekend Special

Nye EasterI’m still waiting for the final headcount for Easter dinner. So far it looks like a relatively small group, probably six. I think I’ve got the menu more or less under control.

Here’s what I’m planning:

How to start? I’m hoping to find artichokes in the supermarket. If I succeed, I’ll serve up some Artichoke Leaves with Shrimp. Many years ago I spent Easter in Rome and the artichokes were in season. For four days, we enjoyed one beautiful artichoke dish after another. Since then, I have always associated artichokes and Easter. In addition, I’ve got Spicy Olives and some Rosemary Cashews to nibble.

What about dinner? To keep it simple, we’ll sit down to Caesar Salad. Then it’s on to the main event. I’m not a real fan of ham, so lamb is my go-to for Easter. If it’s cold and dreary I braise it with artichokes and mushrooms and serve it with creamy polenta. If it’s sunny and clear, I’ll roll the grill out of the garage for Grilled Lamb. Asparagus is another Easter staple and Asparagus Risotto is delicious with grilled lamb.
Easter_Bunnies
And dessert? Most of my family are happy with anything chocolaty. Just in case the Easter bunny forgets to stop by, I need to come up with something, anything chocolate.Chocolate-Espresso Cheesecake is pretty special and delicious. That said, Lemon Cheesecake with a generous spoonful of strawberries would be delicious.

Have a lovely weekend and a Happy Easter! Bon appétit!

What’s up with you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2014

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

