Lovin’ Summer Weekend Special

Full MoonFor a lot of years I spent my summers cooking at a private club. (Somehow or other, that sentence sounds fancier than the reality. It was a nice place with nice people but a hot kitchen is a hot kitchen.) At the end of last summer, I gave it up. It was time to get my summer back! Definitely, the right decision, I’ve spent more time on the beach in the last few weeks than I did in the previous five or more years.

Not to venture too far from the kitchen, I’m still doing a little catering – including this weekend. If I wasn’t, here’s what I might be grilling up for family and friends this weekend! The timing is perfect – there’s a full moon on Saturday night.

For starters, try my new favorite thing (at least for this week)! My Grilled Tomato Crostini will be the prefect start to your cookout. Grilled tomatoes are amazing. I’ve promised to make them at another catering gig at the end of the month. If you feel the need to add some nuts, give my Rosemary Cashews a try. They were such a big hit on the beach a few weekends ago, that a few old friends offered to invest it I agree to make and sell them commercially. They also had great fun coming up with more than a few silly and suggestive names for the company. (Don’t hold your breath – it won’t be happening anytime soon.)

Moving onto dinner … A steak sounds pretty good about now. Try my Grilled Rib Eye with Compound Butter. It is delicious. Grill up some vegetables to go with the steak. I enthusiastically suggest mushroom caps and asparagus. And add a salad. Watermelon Salad with Arugula and Feta is a refreshing choice on a hot night.

The local strawberry season is winding down. Enjoy the last of the berries before they are gone. Try my Strawberries with Yogurt Cream or dip fresh berries in my Lavender Infused White Chocolate Crème. Yum!

Have a wonderful weekend! Bon appétit!

What’s cooking with you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2014

5 thoughts on “Lovin’ Summer Weekend Special

  1. Well I think I might make your Grilled Tomato Crostini this weekend. All I have to do now is buy some skewers. 🙂 I read some where that cabbage on the grill is very good too. I would love to try that sometime. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Mary from NH

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

