A Beautiful Late Summer Weekend Special

on_the_raft_with_the_setting_sunSummer is starting to wind down. The signs are all there. The days are a little shorter. You need a sweater in the evening and first thing in the morning. The school bell is due to ring in a about a week and a half. Now more than ever, be sure to make the most of the remaining the days and nights of our short summer season. On the porch, on the beach, on the trail, live your life outside.

Need some help with a sunny summer menu? How about:

For a delicious start … how about my Grilled Corn, Black Bean & Cheese Quesadillas with Fresh Tomato Salsa. They are addictive. (And good for a casual dinner or lunch too!) Sip a glass of wine or a great craft beer and enjoy a slow and easy start to your dinner.

For the main course, keep it spicy. My Grilled Piri Piri Prawns are delicious. Unless … you’re in the mood for a steak. My Grilled Steak with Spicy Rub is a great choice. Add a healthy Wheat Berry Salad. For a colorful salad, try my Confetti Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette.blueberries

And for dessert … it’s blueberry season! How about Blueberry Clafouti or my dad’s favorite, Blueberry Pie. If you’ve got a crowd, there is nothing easier than Blueberry Crisp.

Have a wonderful weekend! Bon appétit!

What’s up with you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below. I’d be delighted to add you to the growing list of blog subscribers. To subscribe: just scroll back up, fill in your email address and click on the Sign Me Up button. You’ll get an email asking you to confirm your subscription … confirm and you will automatically receive a new story and recipe every week.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2014

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Late Summer Weekend Special

  1. I enjoyed reading your post and like the sound of some of your dishes. I will share them with my wife when I see her and perhaps we will give one of them a try this weekend, she is always looking for something new to cook! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hello Susan, I will be having my two children over this weekend. I have not been able to pick blueberries this year but will pick some up this afternoon when I am doing my food shopping. Your blueberry crisp sounds delicious! I hope that you have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    Mary from NH

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

