Holiday Special – Festive Christmas Feasts

Christmas_StockingWill you be home for Christmas? How many will you have around the tree and around the table? Just in case you are feeling a little stressed, I’ve got a few menu ideas and links to recipes for Christmas Eve and a Festive Brunch on Christmas morning.

However, a big brunch might not be such a great idea if you’ve got a big dinner planned later in the day. Then you might want to stick with something simple … but still a bit fancy. After all it is Christmas. Something like … Savory Blinis with Smoked Salmon and Caviar or ‘tis the season for gingerbread … so how about Very Ginger Gingerbread Muffins or Ginger Scones?

mom_grandparents_ChristmasBut save some room for Christmas dinner. If turkey is on your menu, I’ve got some tasty suggestions for you. Not to worry if you’d rather go with roast beast. I’ve got you covered with a delicious menu for beef or pork tenderloin.

For dessert … May be that I’m stuck on that whole ginger theme but Ginger Crème Brûlée sounds wonderful. Or maybe a pudding … White Chocolate & Cranberry Trifle or a warm and cozy Apple Bread Pudding. For the kids, how about Snowman Cupcakes.

Have a very Merry Christmas with family and friends and bon appétit!

What will you be cooking for the holidays? I’d love to hear from you. Let’s get a conversation going.

What are your special holiday favorites?I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog click here! Or click here for more seasonal menus. © Susan W. Nye, 2014

2 thoughts on “Holiday Special – Festive Christmas Feasts

  1. Is that a photo of your stocking?! My grandmother must have used the same pattern. She knitted them for everyone in the family… and when she passed away, my mother took over the tradition so that everyone in the family has matching stockings on their mantles. I’ve never seen anyone else (outside of our family) with the same stocking! The only difference is that our birth years are knitted into one of the bottom stripes. I believe she used a pattern from Better Homes & Gardens probably dating from the 1950s or 60s. Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • Karen – Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. It was a busy few weeks! My entire family has these stockings. My Aunt Bertha knitted them for my sister, brother and I as well as my cousins and who knows who else. My brother’s was the last one she knit. My mother started knitting them when the first new spouse came into the family and continued with the grandchildren and numerous friend’s babies and grandbabies. My sister took over next. Mom found the the pattern at the local knit shop – the owner had a fantastic library of patterns and an extensive collection of photocopies from old magazines. There are variations and the knit shop owner told us that her pattern originally came from Woman’s Home Companion – some time in the 1930’s or 1940’s. We have our names on one side and birth year on the other. Have a wonderful 2015 – Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

