Weekend Special – A Cozy Dinner

Mom_SusieI confess. It’s my birthday, not exactly this weekend but close enough. After a bit of internal debate between me, myself and I, I’ve decided to keep it simple. There will be no red carpet, no cast of thousands, just a girls’ night with a few friends. We’ll enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fire and then gather around the table. It’s been a busy couple of months and it will be nice to take an evening to relax and chat.

Keep it simple. For a quiet dinner with your nearest and dearest, you don’t need to serve a plethora of fancy hors d’oeuvres. A sparkling glass of Prosecco, a wedge of great cheese, a few of my famous Rosemary Cashews and a dab of Tapenade is all you need.

While we relax in front of the fire, a beautiful chicken will roast in the oven. Roast Chicken is one of my favorite (and easiest) dinner party dishes.I think that we’ll start dinner with a lovely salad of Radicchio, Fennel, and Arugula. For the main course, roast up some Cauliflower and Baby Potatoes along with the chicken. Then again, maybe I’ll go with Couscous with Dried Fruit and Pine Nuts instead of spuds.

To top it all off …  At this point, it’s a toss-up. Bake Carrot Cupcakes or stir up some smooth and creamy special Chocolate Panna Cotta? Decisions! Decisions!

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

What are your plans for the weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2015

6 thoughts on “Weekend Special – A Cozy Dinner

    • Laura – You are right. I did a girls’ night at home with locals – I should have widened my scope … and just see who was willing to travel a couple (maybe several) hundred miles for dinner. We had a great time. Perhaps we should do a Carnegie Hits 60 Party! Hope all is well with you! Take care, Susan

      Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

