Eat Well – Do Good on the Longest Day – Sunday, June 21st

table_set_for_dinner_01Dear Reader,

Many thanks for visiting Susan Nye – Around the Table! I’d like to steal a moment of your time to tell you about the Alzheimer’s Association’s Longest Day event.

With fifteen hours, twenty-three minutes and twenty-one seconds of daylight, Sunday, June 21st is the Summer Solstice or longest day of the year. All around the world, the summer solstice will be celebrated with bonfires, parties and ancient rituals.The Alzheimer’s Association’s is asking people to celebrate the summer solstice by putting their passion to work to raise money and awareness for this awful disease.

It is a cause close to my heart; my mother has advanced stage Alzheimer’s disease. No way could I ignore the call! As you might guess, I’ll be celebrating the longest day in the kitchen and you are invited to dinner!

To reserve a spot for my Longest Day’s dinner please email me asap. To confirm your reservation you need to make a donation to the Alzheimer’s Association. You can do this by check, make it out to the Alzheimer’s Association and send it to me – I will forward it to the Alzheimer’s Association. Alternatively, you can donate on-line on my Team Libby page. (Named for my mother of course) Please feel free to donate generously – $25 per person is the minimum for dinner. More is heartily appreciated.

Hmmm – what to serve? There’s still plenty of time to figure out the menu. For now, I’m scouring my files and cookbooks for summery dishes with at least a hint of Scandinavia. In case you’ve forgotten, Summer Solstice is a favorite Scandinavian holiday. This year, Summer Solstice falls on Father’s Day so I’ve recruited my dad to help me.go_purple

We’ll be serving dinner around 7:00 and you are welcome to arrive at my house any time after 6:30. Please bring a bottle of wine to the dinner. (If it’s white, please make sure it is chilled.) To learn more visit my Eat Well-Do Good page.

Even if you cannot attend the dinner please feel free to join the battle against Alzheimer’s and make a donation to the Alzheimer’s Association. Just send me a check made out to the Alzheimer’s Association or donate on-line on my Team Libby page.

Many thanks and bon appétit!Susan_signature

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

