Father’s Day Special

Dad_SailingSorry to be late with a few Father’s Day ideas. My dear dad had a health issue this week and I spent a good part of the week running back and forth to the hospital. Never a dull moment, today, I was busy with a garden photo shoot up at the Cornish Art Colony. Anyway, Dad is glad to be home again, tired but recovering nicely.

So what’s on his list of must-eats for Father’s Day? Here are a few of my dad’s favorites.

To start, he can’t have too much salmon. And specifically, he is a big fan of my Gravlax with Tarragon-Caper Mustard Sauce. I’ve run out of time to make for Father’s Day so he’ll have to wait until next weekend. Meanwhile, Smoked Salmon Mousse is great alternative and very fitting for the summer solstice.

For the main event, well, nothing says Happy Father’s Day like barbequed ribs. My Maple-Bourbon Pork Ribs have just the right balance of sweet and heat. Serve the ribs with my Grilled Red Potatoes with Lemon-Garlic-Herb Oil and Crunchy Slaw with Cilantro, Mint and Peanuts. Delicious!

When it comes to dessert, what’s your dad’s favorite? In season or not, my father will always ask for a Blueberry Pie. On the other hand, strawberries are in season and delicious with a scoop of Brown Sugar Yogurt Gelato or in a Shortcakes with Cardamom Cream.

Have fun with all the dads in your life and bon appétit!

What are you cooking for Father’s Day? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2015

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Special

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

