A Family Cookout Special

trill_gillian_lupin_summer_2012_04My niece is here from California with her two boys. Well, they’re men really but in my mother’s words they will always be bow-eys. To celebrate their visit, we’re getting together for a family cookout. Everyone will pitch in and it should be delicious.

If you’ve got a cookout or potluck this weekend, here are a few ideas:

Start with shrimp. It’s a bit of a tradition, started I guess by my mother’s father but my dad is happy to keep it going. You can give my Roasted Shrimp with Tarragon Aioli a try. Even grill the shrimp . Or buy them cooked and mix up some cocktail sauce with ketchup, horseradish and lime juice. My dad’s specialty! I’ll be whipping up a batch of my always in demand Rosemary Cashews.

Moving on to dinner, it sounds like we’ll be having burgers on the grill. How about you? You might like my Turkey Burgers with Greek Salsa or my very very delicious Not Your Ordinary Burger with goat cheese and sundried-tomato aioli.

Of course you’ll need a salad or two. How about New Potato Salad Dijon or Orzo Salad with Lemony Pesto & Grilled Tomatoes. And how about my Summer Salad with Green Beans, Blueberries & Goat Cheese? Is that too much goat cheese? Is there any such thing as too much goat cheese? Okay maybe a Caesar Salad would be simpler.

Now for dessert! My niece is making something with blueberries. Should I suggest she try my Blueberry Crostata? I’ll be pitching in with my Cheesecake Brownies.

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!Nye_Family_Cookout_02

What are you planning for the weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2015

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

