A Thanksgiving Potluck Special

TableAre you going to a potluck for Thanksgiving? Or maybe hosting one? Now is a good time to figure out what to bring … and clear it with your host. Then again, if you’re the host, it’s nice to have a list of possibilities handy when people start to call and ask, “What can I bring?”

So, let’s start with a few great Thanksgiving appetizers. Everyone likes mushrooms … so how about something with mushrooms? My favorites include Savory Galette with Spinach, Mushrooms & Manchego, Mushroom Crostini or Greek Stuffed Mushrooms.

Or maybe gorgonzola? My Warm Gorgonzola with Caramelized Onions & Walnuts and Gorgonzola & Walnut Shortbread with Savory Fig Jam are real crowd pleasers.

Unless you’d like seafood … the Pilgrims did live by the sea. Why not give my Gravlax with Tarragon-Caper Mustard Sauce, Smoked Salmon Mousse or Roasted Shrimp with Tarragon Aioli a try.

gords_French_bowl_jugNext, comes soup or salad or both. You can’t go wrong with my family’s favorite Roasted Butternut Squash Soup. My Wild Mushroom Soup is wildly popular as well. Potato & Cheddar Soup is delicious but a bit heavy as a starter but you could spice things up with my Chipotle Sweet Potato Soup.

For salads, my Crunchy Salad with Apples & Grapes is light and bright but my favorite fall/winter salads have got to be Lemony Kale & Radicchio Salad, Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese SaladButternut Squash Salad and Roasted Cauliflower, Radicchio & Arugula Salad. Take your pick.

If you’re hosting and need help with the turkey, here you go with Roast Turkey with My Mom’s Stuffing & Giblet Gravy. (Although, I prefer my Wild Rice & Mushroom Stuffing.) And you should try my Cranberry Sauce!

For sides, it’s back to the guests. Here are some ideas if you need a dish to bring. How about Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Pearl Onions, Roasted Butternut SquashRoasted Carrots with Pearl OnionsRoasted Cauliflower with Parmigiano-ReggianoRoasted Green Beans & Tomatoes and/or Roasted Mushrooms, Leeks, Shallots & Pearl Onions.

Alternatively, my Braised Red Cabbage, Corn Cakes and Broccoli Purée are also delicious.

For spuds, my Decadent Cheesy Potatoes and Lemon Roasted Potatoes can both be made ahead and warmed at the party. And, for a spud alternative, try my Quinoa with Sweet Potato & Spinach or Savory Bread Pudding with Butternut Squash & Swiss Chard.

And it’s on to dessert. The all-time favorite with my family is my Pumpkin Cheesecake. If you want to go with apples, then try my Apple Bread Pudding, Old-Fashioned Apple Crisp with Cranberry Coulis, Rustic Apple Croustade or Rustic Apple Tart. If you are a bit of a nut, then try Aunt Anna’s Pecan Pie or my Chocolate-Peanut Butter Tart. And no, I don’t believe the Pilgrims had either chocolate or peanut butter.

Still need a few ideas for this weekend? How about Baba Ganoush to start. Followed by Moroccan Spiced Vegetables & Chickpeas with Couscous or Coq au Vin with Lemony Kale & Radicchio Salad .

And for dessert … Pumpkin Cupcakes!

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

What are your plans for the weekend … advance prep for Thanksgiving? A last hike before the snow flies? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2015

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

