Holiday Special – Baking Christmas Cookies

bakingAre you a holiday baker? Looking for a change to the same old-same old. If yes, then I’ve got some suggestions that can easily fill your Saturday and/or afternoon this weekend.

Start with a twist on tradition! You’ll love my Citrus & Spice Sugar Cookies. Or try my Peppermint Bark Cookies for a chocolaty treat.

Shortbread is great for the holidays, so how about my Ginger Shortbread or Macadamia Nut Shortbread. And for buttery deliciousness, you can’t beat my Snowy Pecan Balls.

You also might like to add a few savory bites for cocktail hour. Gorgonzola & Walnut Shortbread with Savory Fig Jam or Savory Parmesan Shortbread with Tomato Jam.

For a couple of years I did a baking party with my mom and her buddies at our local assisted living facility. Favorites included Root ‘n’ Tooty Good ‘n’ Fruity Oatmeal Cookies and Peanut-y Chocolate Chip Cookies. Both are the perfect cookies to help Santa keep up his strength on his long route. Want a more grownup cookie? How about Cherry-Pistachio Biscotti.

If you are feeling rushed (and who isn’t), Sweet Dream Bars are quick and easy. Chocolate lovers can’t miss with my Triple Threat Brownies or Cheesecake Brownies.

Then there are lovely homemade chocolates and candies! I need to get my act together and send off a batch of my Chocolate Almond Buttery Brittle to my niece in California. Be careful with this one, it is positively addictive. No less delicious, are my Chocolate Dipped Orange Caramels. For a luxurious treat, try my Chocolate Truffles. Christmas candies are a wonderful addition to your holiday buffet table and make great gifts.

If you are thinking of something sweet as a hostess gift or stocking stuffer, don’t forget my Death by Chocolate Sauce, luscious Maple Sauce or Caramel Sauce.

Just be sure to save some time for yourself! Enjoy everything the holiday season has to offer and bon appétit!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What sweet treats will you be making during the holidays? I’d love to hear from you. Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! © Susan W. Nye, 2015

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

