Ski Vacation Special

skiing_headwall_RaggedAre you on vacation this week? With yesterday’s rain, you may have a house full of frustrated skiers. Hopefully, they are just as happy hiking as skiing and you can go out and explore. However you spend the day, your friends and family will be hungry at the end of the day. If you are running out of ideas, here are a few hearty dishes that will help make your vacation fun and delicious!

Chili is a ski house favorite but I have something even better. Try my Sausages with White Beans. My brother calls this dish, “Nice trip down memory lane! A more gourmet spin on Mom’s Friday night hot dogs and baked beans with brown bread!” Unless you have vegetarians at your party. Then you might want to go with my Vegetarian Chili.

Or take an old fashioned beef stew up a notch with my Carbonnade á la Flamande – Beer Braised Beef & Onions or Braised Short Ribs. Enjoy these delicious braises with a dollop of Smashed Potatoes. Then again, seafood lovers will go crazy for my
Caribbean Seafood Stew. Serve the stew with a spoonful of rice or my Israeli Couscous .

For a bit of a change, everyone will love my Moussaka. You can’t go wrong with a cozy pasta dish. Try my Poverty Casserole or Mac & Cheese with Cauliflower & Bacon.

How about a salad to go with that cozy comfort food? Kids love my Crunchy Salad with Apples & Grapes and Caesar Salad with Parmesan Croutons. If you’ve got a taste for pungent, you can’t beat my Mixed Greens Salad with Gorgonzola & Walnuts. Since kale is all the rage, you’ll want to try my Lemony Kale & Radicchio Salad. My Greek Salad is a must have for Moussaka.

Now for a sweet. My mom always baked a batch of brownies for February vacation. My Black & White Brownies and/or Espresso Brownies are delicious. If you want to get a little fancy, try my Double Trouble Chocolate-Orange Cupcakes or Chocolate-Peanut Butter Tart.

Have a great rest of week and bon appétit!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What are your favorite winter vacation recipes? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

