Taxes Done? Time for Tea Weekend Special

tea_tins_04Are your taxes done? (Eeeegads! They’re due on Monday.) How about your best pals’? Reward yourself and your friends with a friendly spot of afternoon tea. If they’re not done and done, reward yourself for the work in progress.

Start with your favorite brew. Black tea or green, what’s your preference? Maybe it’s herbal? My cupboard hosts a large variety. I’m partial to lemon-ginger to mint and drink green tea because everyone tells me it is good for me. My favorite is English Breakfast, and yes, I will drink it in the afternoon. What to serve with it?

Why delicate little tea sandwiches of course! Homemade Gravlax with Tarragon-Caper Mustard Sauce on whole grain sound good. Or try a grilled chicken a slice of baguette with small dollop of Artichoke Pesto and a few shavings of Parmigiano-Reggiano. Perhaps you’d like to make up a batch of open-faced sandwiches with Cucumber, Tapenade and with a sprinkle of goat cheese?

Don’t forget the scones. A tea party would not be a tea party without scones. Try my latest Lavender Scones with Honey Butter or go with an old favorite – my Lemon Scones. Then again, my Ginger Scones are delicious too. You might have to have more than one tea party.

End the party with a sweet. Perhaps you’d like to try my Double Trouble Chocolate-Orange Cupcakes. They are wonderful. Unless you’d rather try my Espresso Brownies or Mini Chocolate-Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies. I’ll leave the tough decisions to you!

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

What are you cooking this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2016

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

