A Chilly Almost Summer Weekend Special

Last week I lugged the air conditioner upstairs and shoved it into my office window. It was all hip hip hurray, summer has come! What a difference a week makes. Walking around Pleasant Lake this morning, I seriously wondered if I might end up in Oz. The weekend promises more clouds and cooler temperatures. It may be June but this is New Hampshire.lupin_poppies_02

While you might not want to eat outside this weekend, there’s no reason not cook outside. Get out the grill and enjoy a cook-out-eat-in with family and friends. Here are a few ideas:

Start with a delicious pancake. Decisions, decisions. You can take it south of the border with Tostadas with Avocado Crema & Black Bean Salsa or to Eastern Europe with Savory Blinis with Smoked Salmon & Caviar.

Now, what’s for dinner? With cooler weather, everyone will enjoy a meat and potatoes cookout. Give my Grilled Pork Tenderloin and Grilled Potato Salad a try. Of course, you’ll want something green to go with it. Before it’s gone, make sure you indulge in local asparagus – as much and as often as possible. My Asparagus & Radish Salad is a delicious way to do just that.

And finally, dessert! Speaking of local; rhubarb is in season. I can recommend my Rhubarb Crisp. (While you’re at it, you might want to bake up a batch of my Rhubarb Muffins for Sunday morning.) On the other hand, it’s been a while since I baked one of my favorites – Lemon Tart.

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

What are you up to this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2016

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

