I Love Fall Weekend Special

Oh my gosh! It’s the first day of fall … and it’s nothing short of glorious. The weekend promises more of the same! I’ve got a ton of writing to do but that shouldn’t stop you from getting out and about. Bike, hike or enjoy one last swim! I saw a water skier early this morning.

No matter how you spend the day, a delicious evening with friends and family sounds like a good idea. Here are a few ideas:

Celebrate the start of fall with a tasty appetizer. Given the season, my Butternut Squash Crostini with Goat Cheese & Balsamic Reduction would be perfect. On the other hand, local tomatoes will not be here forever. Perhaps you should indulge in my Bruschetta with Fresh Tomatoes, Goat Cheese & Pesto Oil.

Next, to the table and a great salad. For something sort of fall-ish, try my Crunchy Salad with Apples & Grapes or Lemony Kale & Radicchio Salad.

And for the main course … the possibilities are endless. With no worries about cold or rain, you still work the grill. However with cooler weather, you can break out your favorite braising pan or soup kettle. What’s your preference … a final taste of summer or an early taste of fall? How about a compromise? You will love my Lobster-Corn Chowder. It’s warm and cozy but filled with summer favorites. Then again … it might be time for Lobster Mac & Cheese? Talk about cozy!

And finally, what about dessert? if it’s fall it’s time for apples. You can’t go wrong with my Applesauce Cake with Brown Butter Icing. If you are feeling pie-ish try my Rustic Apple Tart.

Have a wonderful weekend and bon appétit!

What are your plans for the weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

© Susan W. Nye, 2016

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

