What’s Cooking? Christmas Special

Christmas_Tree_Fells_2015_01Are you in a panic? Wondering what to cook for Christmas? If that more or less describes your current state, you might ask, “What about you Susan? What are you cooking this Christmas weekend?”

I’m delighted to be cooking with my nieces again on Christmas Eve. We’ll be eight around the table. Seafood is traditional for the night before Christmas so that’s what we’ll be doing.

While a feast of seven fishes might be fun, we’ll keep it a lot simpler. Here what I’m thinking … a feast of a couple of fishes …

We’ll want a few things to nibble before dinner. I think Smoked Salmon Mousse sounds good. (I’ll check with the girlies – we may need to take it up a notch with a batch of Blinis with Smoked Salmon & Caviar.) I have some Sriracha Aioli and Tapenade on hand and I’ll get some veggies for dipping. And we’ll definitely want to roast some Rosemary Cashews.

A salad for the first course, kale sounds good. We’ll toss up a colorful combination healthy veggies with my Lemony Kale & Radicchio Salad.

There will be shrimp for the main course. We could toss up a batch of Mediterranean Shrimp but I think we’ll roast the shrimp (but skip the Tarragon Aioli). Instead, we’ll stir up a creamy and delicious Lemon Risotto with Spinach & Herbs.

And for dessert? Chocolate of course. While I suppose with three or four women in the kitchen, all is subject to change. For now, Flourless Chocolate Cake is on the menu.

What about Christmas morning? While we are in the kitchen, we might as well prep a batch of Sticky Buns or bake a Cranberry Coffee Cake.

I will not be cooking Christmas dinner. If you are and still trying to decide what to cook … I’ve got two menus for you to peruse. In the meantime, I’m waiting for instructions or suggestions of what I can bring along to help.

Happy holidays and bon appétit!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What are your plans for the weekend? I’d love to hear from you. Let’s get a conversation going.

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! © Susan W. Nye, 2016

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

