Labor Day Weekend Special

Well, here it is – the last hurrah of summer. School has already started – just in time for a long weekend. Some of the summer people will be back to close up the cottage. Locals will see the rhythm of their days and weeks accelerate. So for one last weekend, take it easy. Spend some time on the lake and get together with friends for a cookout. By the way, it looks like Saturday will the best day of the weekend.

Here are a few ideas for a tasty, end of summer cookout:

Is there anything better than a fresh, local tomato? How about Tomatoes with Burrata Salad and Grilled Bread ? I can’t get enough of this one. Throughout the summer, it has been my go-to supper whenever I’m home late from yoga or a meeting. Want something a bit less messy? Then try my Crostini with Cucumber, Radish & Feta. Alternatively, think of Provence and try my Pissaladière .

What about a salad? Since the grill is already going, I suggest you go for my Grilled Romaine Salad or Grilled Zucchini & Feta Salad with Lemony Vinaigrette .

On to the main course. How fancy would you like to be? You can go high end with a delicious Grilled Steak with Rosemary-Balsamic Glaze . Serve the steak with my Cheesy Polenta with Fresh Corn .

If you’ve got a big crowd, you can’t miss with my Grilled Lamb with Fresh Mint. Serve it with Cheesy Polenta with Fresh Corn or take your dinner in a different direction and try my Szechuan Noodle Salad on the side.

If you are thinking ultra-casual, then you can’t miss with my Southwest Turkey Burgers or Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Charred Corn, Tomatoes & Salsa Verde . Serve either with Jicama Slaw .

Finish up the evening with sweet blueberries. I can suggest two wonderful blueberry desserts – Blueberry-Ginger Cobbler and Blueberry Bread Pudding .

As for me? I won’t be doing a lot of cooking this weekend. As I sit here tapping the last of my kitchen is being torn away. All of my dishes are piled on and under the dining room table. The old stove and dishwasher are in the driveway. Thank goodness for the grill, hotplate, microwave and salads.

Have a great weekend and bon appétit!

For a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog Click Here!!

What’s up with you this weekend? I’d love to hear from you! Let’s get a conversation going. To make a comment, just click on Comments below.

Want more? Click here for more seasonal menus! © Susan W. Nye, 2017

One thought on “Labor Day Weekend Special

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

