Lights Out & Warm Brie with Cranberry Chutney

It was a dark and stormy night. The rain was coming down in buckets. The wind was blowing a gale. And the trees, they were toppling like Legos struck down by a petulant four year old. Suddenly, I was wide awake. I seem to have this uncanny knack to wake up just as the lights go out. Maybe it’s the sound of wind in the trees. Then again, maybe it’s some sixth sense.

Perhaps, it’s not the noise that awakens me but a premonition of doom. Anyway that feeling of doom yanked me out of bed. After a bit of fumbling, I found the electric company’s telephone number and I stumbled downstairs to call them. I then spent most of the rest of the night tossing and turning.

Finally, it was morning. Never wanting to miss my daily walk around Pleasant Lake, I set off. I figured I would check out the reason for the power failure and get some exercise. The sun was doing its best to break through the murky fog but failing miserably. It didn’t take long to find an answer to the power outage. Less than a mile down the road, I found the culprit. An enormous hemlock had tipped over and rolled itself up in the electrical wires.

Careful to stay clear of any downed wires, I skirted the tree and continued. Not more than a quarter mile later, another massive tree had flung itself across the road, downing still more wires. Further on, more curious then damaging, a large branch was nonchalantly hanging from a wire in the center of the road. Next, not another tree but a jumble of wires lay on the road surrounded by a few downed branches.

I kept moving and found an even more exciting trouble spot. This time the wires were actually on fire. Scrambling through the woods, I managed to avoid electrocution. Was that it? No, certainly not. Just at the corner, not a stone’s throw from my house was the last of the fallen hemlocks. Caught in the wires and suspended over the road, it looked like an accident ready to happen.

How disappointing is that? Not only was the power out but seeing that tree made me realize something. I probably don’t have a sixth sense after all. That tree must have made a hell of a racket when it crashed. It was a conifer and not some mystical psychic power that woke me in the night.

Anyway, let this outage be a reminder. If you are like me, you went to bed on Sunday night completely unprepared for two days without power. In my case, I had a large stash of triple-A but no flashlight batteries. Then again, the flashlight I faithfully keep in my bedside table had been moved. Yes of course, by me. Who else? And yes, I know better.

Furthermore, to answer the next question, no, I had not filled my five-gallon lobster pot and a dozen jugs with water. In fact, I threw out a bunch of old gallon jugs when I stripped the kitchen for the remodel. The lobster pot is somewhere in the garage.

I did manage a bit of luck though. Although I forgot to charge my cell phone before going to bed, it wasn’t dead. At twenty-six percent, it had more than enough power for me to call the power company, be cut off, call back and be put on hold, cut off again and, finally, get through and register my outrage … oops … I mean outage.

Stay safe and dry. Bon appétit!

Warm Brie with Cranberry Chutney
Although it is still early, I’m already thinking ahead to Thanksgiving. May I suggest that you start the festivities with a bit of warm brie topped with a dollop of sweet and spicy chutney? Enjoy!
Makes about 30 pieces

Cranberry Chutney (recipe follows)
1 (16 ounce) wheel Brie cheese
Your favorite artisanal crackers

Make the Cranberry Chutney (recipe follows).

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place the brie wheel on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees until soft and starting to ooze, about 10 minutes.

Transfer the brie to a cheese board, add a bowl of Cranberry Chutney and a basket of your favorite artisanal crackers. Invite your guests to help themselves.

Cranberry Chutney
Makes about 2 cups

2 tablespoons butter
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 small carrot, finely chopped
1 tablespoon minced ginger
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon or to taste cayenne pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
8 ounces (2 cups) whole cranberries
1 small apple, peeled, cored and chopped
1/2 cup golden raisins
1/4 cup or to taste light brown sugar
1/2 cup apple cider or water
3-4 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat, add the onion, carrot, ginger and spices, season with salt and pepper and cook until the onion is translucent, about 10 minutes. Add the garlic and cook 2 minutes more.

Stir in the cranberries, apple, raisins, brown sugar and cider and bring to a simmer. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the chutney reaches a jam consistency, about 15 minutes. Remove from the heat, cool to room temperature and stir in the vinegar.

Best if made ahead, covered and refrigerated until ready to use. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Print-friendly version of this post.

One Year Ago – Butternut Squash Tartlets
Two Years Ago – Lemony Kale & Radicchio Salad
Three Years Ago – Wild Rice & Mushroom Stuffing
Four Years Ago – Sweet Potato & Goat Cheese Crostini
Five Years Ago – Pumpkin Cheesecake
Six Years Ago – Rustic Apple Croustade
Seven Years Ago – Cranberry Sauce
Eight Years Ago – Decadent Cheesy Potatoes
Nine Years Ago – Broccoli Puree

Or Click Here! for a complete list of and links to all the recipes on this blog!

Are you ready for the next power outage? What are secret survival tricks? Feel free to share!

Want more? I’ve got links to lots more to read, see & cook. © Susan W. Nye, 2017

2 thoughts on “Lights Out & Warm Brie with Cranberry Chutney

  1. Re what did we learn to do when a power outage was likely, before we got the generator, our first move was to ‘fill the bathtub’. That meant that we could flush the adjacent toilet which added a bit of civilization to the powerless period. Also, try not to open the freezer..

    Like

Leave a Comment - I'd love to hear from you!

